Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Over the Moon
2010-01-28 - 7:34 a.m.

Feeling: ecstatic
Listening to: television and wrestling puppies
Reading/Watching: Chuck, season 2

I went to my second callback, thrilled and nervous, and gave my very best, emphatic, spine-arching, yowling, balls-to-the-walls performance.

I watched every other girl there give the same effort, and started to shrivel a little. They were so good. There was Violet from "Sideshow", Eva Peron from "Evita", not to mention faces I recognized but couldn't remember all the incredible roles they've played.

Walking out, I heard the disheartening statement from one director, "Well, that didn't help." I left with a couple girls to grab a de-stressing drink afterward. We commiserated over sweet potato fries.

I spent the next day in agony, checking my e-mail every hour between classes. When I received one mail from the theater I had a few heart attacks, only to open it and discover I was being invited to usher for their next show which opens this weekend.

That night, I spent about two hours frenetically cleaning to keep my mind off it. Maybe they would call tomorrow. Maybe it was complicated. Maybe there would even be a third torturous callback.

Hope came over to go for a walk, and we jogged both Andante and Dolce into submission. On our way back home with Dolce, Sandman drove up to drop off my phone charger, which I left at his place. I got a sick joy out of racing around in cute, supertight jogging clothes while he stood there, holding my charger.

Then the phone rang. It was the director. She would like me to join them on their production of RENT, to play the role of Maureen. I kept my cool (although I wasn't breathing), thanked her, and hung up the phone. It's only a role I've loved and dreamed of ever since I first heard the soundtrack at seventeen.

Commence screaming, bouncing, spinning around, squeaking, etc. I hugged both Hope and Sandman, snuggled the exhausted doggies, and sent off text messages to thirty different people. It was a crazy night, punctuated by congratulatory messages off and on through the night.

I am so happy. On top of the VERY obvious reason, this is just the distraction I need. New doors open.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante