Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Fate
2002-01-20 - 1:57 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Let's pretend a string ties us at the hip.
Ten years long, it is
strung from you, to me.
We walk around
on tethers we don't see,
and that string catches
on corners
and lamp posts
winding shorter
bringing
you
to
me.

If I walk around long enough
pretend it isn't there,
you'll come
drawn inexorably-
until we're hip
to
hip.
Not walking anymore,
Because we're there.

The wedding was beautiful. It got me thinking a lot about fate. They did it up classy: black satin bridesmaids' dresses, strapless wedding gown with pearls on the bodice and a thick border at the hem. Tables decorated with candles that had handwritten sayings on them, and tall cylindrical glass vases of white, white roses. They were going to throw them all out, so I rescued two vases- one for me, one for my accompanist Amy.

They always say every wedding has one catastrophe. It's not complete without one. The bridesmaids had to carry little open lanterns with burning votives in them, and when bowing to leave at the very end, the maid of honor was jostled and spattered some wax down her dress. That was it. It wasn't even noticeable.

The music went off without a hitch. Completely hitch-less. I almost despise myself for having such a nice experience.

Those two are going to have beautiful children. I swear. They're like something off a cover of Bride's magazine. It's almost scary.

Damn fake nails. The mother of the bride paid for manicures for all of us. I hate these things. They clack like the dickens, and my tyop percfentage syrkockets.

More about the bachelorette party later. :)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante