Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Future Road Splatters of America
2007-08-17 - 11:23 p.m.

Feeling: furious
Listening to: --
Reading/Watching: The Guy Not Taken, by Jennifer Weiner

So on my drive home from the show tonight, a motorcyclist cut me off (we're talking within inches), and of course I honked at him. He flipped me the bird, and proceeded to go slower than I had originally been driving.

I went around him on the right side, and went back to my original speed, which he thought I was doing just to pass him, so he sped up. I needed to get back left in order to turn off onto my street, so I went five over in order to get ahead of him. The dipshit continued to match my speed (because, you know, it's a contest).

Finally, I slammed my gas pedal down, and had to cut him off in order to get back to the lane I needed. He pulled into the lane on my right side (he apparently didn't need the left lane as I did; he just liked it) and proceeded to cuss me out vigorously.

I rolled down my window and said, "Look, you cut me off first, asshole. I just wanted to go the speed I was going, and you nearly took off my bumper. If you're going to drive like that, wear a fucking helmet, so they don't have to scrape you off the road with a spatula."

He, of course, was too busy repeating "fuck you" over and over to hear a word I said. So of course, the lesson was duly absorbed.

I'm sorry, but a backwards baseball cap and t-shirt are NOT adequate protection to ride a motorcycle, and I don't want to pay for the heavy counseling I'll need after you've crashed into me and gotten yourself killed. If you have to ride a motorcycle, follow the rules of the road (especially following distance), and for God's sake, have some respect for your own life. My uncle died on a motorcycle when he was fifteen because he was too cool to wear a helmet, and you know he never gave a thought to the anguish he might save his family by ruining his 'do and putting one on.

I was so angry I started crying once I walked in the door. That guy will never understand that if he becomes road pizza and leaves his wife and kids grieving for him, it'll be his own fault.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante