Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Murderess
2007-01-19 - 1:17 a.m.

Feeling: mopey
Listening to: The Mountain Goats - Peacocks
Reading/Watching: GRE Prep: Math Section

So I was thrilled to get a 2 GB iPod for Christmas. Thrilled. My husband went halfsies with my parents to buy it for me (they both wanted to get me one, so pooled funds to get a nicer one), and I waited until I had several hours of spare time to finally, finally get it set up.

Then I opened my complete music library, and I have 1854 songs, spanning 5.2 days of time combined. This is nearly eight gigs. Jeez.

So, in trying to compile a list of my absolute favorite, must-have songs, I whittled it down to three gigs. Only three.

Trying to tough it out, I gritted my teeth and whittled some more, all the while feeling that I was pushing beautiful little orphaned children off a bus, or something. Down to 2 gigs. Try to copy to the iPod: nope, you forget, silly woman, the doohickey needs some space left for the programs to run it. They say you have two gigabytes of beautiful music-filled space, but they lie. You have only 1.78.

Near tears, I continued to cut songs, beginning to feel like I was murdering my own children. It was Sophie's Choice: which awesome Vienna Teng song do I like more? Are you kidding me? The entire beauty of Vienna is that every song is PERFECT (although I had a wry moment and knocked off "Momentum" just because of the times I've heard her complain in concert that the song is like a whiny sixteen-year-old who occasionally shines, but usually pouts, trips, and runs to her bedroom to slam the door and play bad pop ballads).

Now I'm whining about it, and Lindsy feels bad, saying he should have gone bigger and gotten me the 8 gigabyte, until I gently reminded him that even an 8 GB wouldn't have held all my music, due to the program space and all. It's not his fault; I'm just weirdly attached to these tunes, and too damned eclectic to want to make something as prosaic as a "hard rock mix" or some such crap. If I'm going to make a mix I can carry around with me, I for damned sure want it all.

Le sigh. I'll just let the iPod randomize and take what it will amongst the children. It's not my fault; it's the bus-driver's.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante