Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

My Weekend, in 100 words or less.
2002-11-11 - 10:37 p.m.

Feeling: Full. Eat at Joe's.
Listening to: Everwood. Taped it.
Reading/Watching: Hugo's "After the Fall"

As always, I had this really great entry forming in my head, and then I wrote this.

The weekend was fantastic. The girls and I really bonded and giggled together and it was verymuchfun. I made semi-finals at the competition, which makes me feel really cool, since they're saying no one from Saint Moo has done that at the big tri-state competition in a looong time. Like ten years.

::la danse joyeuse::

Got home after the trip Saturday evening, and intended to take a "quick nap" at 9 p.m. before calling my friends and catching up on the past four days. I awoke at 7 a.m. on Sunday. So yeah. Somebody was tired. Then Sunday there was homework, and thus no diary entry.

Dad was in town for business today, so we went to dinner. Beforehand, I was on the phone with Harry and told him, "I have to go, I need to change for dinner with my dad" and he said, "Oh, can I meet him?"

Yeah. I can see this happening. "Hi, Dad, this is my ex-boyfriend who cheated on me after three weeks of dating because he couldn't get into my pants."

Harry is 5'11". My father is 6'4". You can probably picture it as clearly as I can.

And the boy had the gall to be hurt when I awkwardly said, "I don't know, I'm not sure what kind of message that would send him, since I never introduce him to anyone except on accident." He told me I was cold, and when I asked him what that was supposed to mean, he paused and said, "I dunno, I just... felt like saying that."

What the hell-? I am beginning to wonder if I was somehow drunk or crazy when I cried over him. If I'm cold, it's because I'm no longer puppy-eyed over him, telling him how wonderful he is when he cuts himself down.

At dinner (I haven't even really told my parents we broke up), I intimated that we were having problems because he was moving faster than I was comfortable with (G-rated version, much?), and we had a really great conversation about how in this point in my life, I was too young to be diving into something, and too old to ignore when people were clearly on different paths. Most of this was stuff I was saying, but he gave me some great advice and it was so amazing to have a real, non-small-talk conversation with him, since most of our interaction involves my car, my grades, and my financial situation.

And you know how I say I never see anyone in my family without bringing home food? They deny it, but it's true. When I go home, Mom takes me grocery shopping, or just plain picks things up at the store for me to take back. When I visited Claire over the summer, she gave me a pineapple. Going to dinner with Dad, he gave me his doggie bag (in addition to my own) and then, at H.E.B. when he got motor oil for his car, he also grabbed a box of those milk and cereal bars and said, "Here, these look good, why don't you try them?"

Hee hee. It cracks me up.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante