Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Ramblings of an Ailing Diva
2002-11-13 - 4:21 p.m.

Feeling: Pitiful. ::Cough cough::
Listening to: Course of Nature - Remain
Reading/Watching: Terry Brooks, "Running With the Demon"

I feel ucky. This morning in the shower, my vocal range was less than an octave. The rest would crackle and come-and-go like bad AM radio.

Hate that. So after my first two classes, I napped and drank lots of hot tea and felt sorry for myself, and it was nice, how many people called that I would have missed and had to call back if I'd not been in my room.

Now, on to daily rambles. I am driving the three air force boys to RenFest after all. The five of us were planning on going (Bri, me, Geoff, Lindsey and Quincy. Those boys' names are just too cool to even attempt code ones). But then there was the large heartbreak of Geoff being one of those idiotic boys who goes back to a long-distance girlfriend instead of choosing someone much cooler and more approximate (such as Bri). I worried that once she refused to go, the whole thing would be off, even though it was promising to be a lovely trip.

Then they sheepishly asked if I would drive them instead (I do, after all, have Luna-Bunny, the Bounciest Nissan in the West), and I consented, after making sure Bri was okay with it.

When we talked about it, she very cautiously asked me, "Katie, if it came down to it, would you be my friend, or theirs?"

I gave her an incredulous look, and stated the obvious. "I've known them two months. I've known you over two years."

She smiled in relief and said she hoped we had fun.

This will be new- I was never the type of girl who hung out with a passel of boy pals (I was never interesting enough). Now I suppose I am, since we hung out last night and all they could speak of was the weekend. It was nice, because Bri came along and she was happy for us and made peace with Geoff.

Then Geoff, for some reason, decided that a sore spot on the top of his mouth was swelling (again with the 2 a.m. crises, geez), and it might be a tumor, because he was a smoker (hypochondriac, anyone?), so we dropped him off at the AF hospital and Bri wanted to stay with him so he wouldn't be alone. I went back to the AF dorms to hang out with Lindsey and Quincy until they called us back.

Quincy is starting to make me wonder, because I've known these boys for a few months now, and he's always been touchy and huggy on both Bri and me, and we accepted it at face value, but now it's getting more direct. He hugs Briana hello and goodbye still, but will rub my shoulders in the car, play with my hair when I'm nearby, occasionally put his arm around me or rest his hand on my knee if we're watching a movie.

Walking to the car to get Bri and Geoff from the hospital (it was a mouth ulcer. The boy got himself utterly worked up over an inflamed tortilla chip wound), I shivered, and Quincy became adamant about giving me his coat, no matter how much I argued. It was cute, but a bit overdone. I don't want to read too much into it, obviously, but being Oblivious Katie hasn't gotten me anywhere thus far.

This weekend will tell, I guess. Honestly, I'm attracted to him, but it's nothing beyond that. He's a nice friend, a sweet boy, and I could take it or leave it at this point. He's still something of a fairweather friend, since he didn't even know what had happened with Harry (only that it was over) until he asked me about it last night. The comforting thing is that he knows how the land lays in that quarter: that I'm over it, but still a bit on the rebound. I'm sure he wouldn't take advantage of that, especially considering the circumstances of the break-up.

The highlight of the evening was when Bri and I were driving back, and she giggled about how babyish Geoff was in the hospital. He sat there, moaning, looking stricken as the doctors checked him over, somehow completely missing the fact that the doctors and nurses were looking from his paltry mouth sore to Briana's missing feet and giving him disgusted glances.

She laughed and echoed something I'd said about Harry: "And I cried over him because why?"

Every boy Bri crushes on should go through some minor illness (hey, it worked with helping her get over Paul, the Older Man). Then she can see them when they're whiny and pathetic, and remember how she always said she needed someone stronger than her. Right now, there isn't a person in our orbit that fits that description.

We once compared the meaning of our names. Briana means Strength. Katie means Purity. We both hate the irony of that. But maybe it'll remind us to think more clearly next time when we try to match ourselves with the weak and lecherous. :o�

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante