Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Never-Step
2009-11-06 - 1:38 a.m.

Feeling: tenuous
Listening to: --
Reading/Watching: Rachel Getting Married

There were moments, especially in the beginning, when I would give Dolce food, or play and snuggle with her, and she would be so incredulous it broke my heart. Her leg was swollen with infection so that she could barely walk, but she would wag the bottom end of her tail fiercely, just to let me know we were friends.

Now she's healthy, well-fed and parasite-free, and she's a bit of a pain, because she doesn't have the proper training to live in a house yet. She still often eats something weird and vomits in the green chair. She still chews holes in her new food dish. She still occasionally pees on the floor.

There are times I feel a little bit like a stray dog, too. I had a home, and I ran away from it. The next home I tried to choose kicked me back out, because I destroyed one too many things, vomited on too much furniture. I lacked the proper training, and wagged my tail fiercely as I committed the fatal mistake.

So now I am building this new home. And I'd like to stay. But I am a little terrified of peeing on the floor. Perhaps this home, this guy, won't kick me out for it. Perhaps I'll be forgiven and gently shown how to do it right. Perhaps I won't run out of chances, because I'll learn to live in this house.

But the potential of that unnamed fatal mistake lingers in the back of my mind.

In the meantime, she's a darling baby girl, still a little incredulous, but lovable. She gets a little territorial and will growl over a particularly good treat if the Booger gets too close. She keeps dragging random items around the house because she can. As long as she gets along with Andante and me (and Sandman, who is remarkably still here with me), we'll be just fine.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante