Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Why This Isn't the Anniversary Entry
2005-05-28 - 8:52 p.m.

Feeling: busy
Listening to: commercials coming from Nimsay's room
Reading/Watching: The Eye of the World, by Robert Jordan

I'm working on the five-year-anniversary entry, and in the meantime I was hoping to upload some pictures from the trip and show them to you, a la annoying vacationers who whip out their boxes of slides upon return from the mystic wilds of some place like Delaware.

Luckily for you, Diaryland will not upload them right now. So you've escaped, this time.

So instead of pretty pictures or a lengthy memoir over the past five years (I'm cheating, starting up where the two-year entry left off), you get only the information that I've been back in town for all of three days, and already I'm sick of the subject of my unemployment. It is difficult to pursue a fruitful job-hunt when I was in California until Monday and Houston until today. If my parents say one more word about how "it's not as easy as you think" (when talking to the girl who has bussed and waited tables, worked in bank repo, sold underwear, and been the 411 phone operator), I am not inviting them to the wedding.

In other news, during the trip home I showed mon coeur the church I've attended practically since birth (well, 11 months), until graduating highschool. I tried to adequately explain what it meant to me, without pushing too hard about having the wedding there, since he's not Christian (much less Catholic). The last thing I want is for him to be uneasy or resentful about any detail of such an important day for both of us. But I did tell him it's where I went for solace in difficult years, and that when I imagined my wedding, I imagined it there. (It would take an entire entry to explain the kind of anxiety I had over making him feel comfortable there, while not sugarcoating anything to force his vote. I'm not very good at hiding my feelings from him anymore, and he can read when I'm a little too nonchalant.)

After walking around the place on two separate visits, and leaving him alone to think it over carefully, he decided that he had no objections to it. It doesn't mean to him what it does to me, but it's still a beautiful, open, welcoming building. So that's one detail we've ironed out. I'm hoping to settle a few others before he leaves, since he won't be able to see these things in person after August 10th.

In the meantime, he's not feeling well, so this entry will have to be cut short while I coo ineffectually over his suffering (this is the first time he's ever let me do that, so I am quite honored).

Five-year-anniversary entry due to arrive either tonight or tomorrow. You know me, I'm never one to do things on time.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante