Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Nuitari Tries to be a Figure Skater
2005-08-28 - 6:11 p.m.

Feeling: lucky
Listening to: cell phone ringing... and ringing...
Reading/Watching: no time, no time.

Okay, so I am somewhat weirded out by the fact that two days after I dream of mon coeur's death, he has a severe car accident on his way to work.

He swerved to avoid a construction cone that was left carelessly in the road, fishtailed, and (we suspect) a tire blew out, which caused him to spin into a cement light post, impacting on the driver's side between the two doors.

When he called me the first time, it was just to ask me to take him to work. By the time I got there, he realized he was in pain and needed to go to the hospital. His lungs felt constricted, and his side was hurting. A wrecker was already there, along with a policeman, but no ambulance, which was the one thing that kept me from completely losing it.

The car is totaled. We're talking folded-vertically-in-half kind of totaled. I drove up and saw the wrecked car first, with both windshields shattered, the roof and main frame bent in. Naturally, my vicious little dream from two nights ago was dancing through my head, because I'm superstitious sometimes, and I hate coincidences like that.

I took my boy to the military hospital, and had to leave to sing at work/church, but came back afterward to stay with him until it was time for my afternoon voice lessons. I would go away while he had x-rays or a CAT-scan, then come back to hear the results, until it was time to take him home.

He has three cracked ribs and a bruised lung, but he can walk and his neck and spine are okay, so the doctors are letting him miss work for the week until a check-up on Friday. I got to help him put on his uniform again (much as I love those slinky little hospital frocks), drive him home, and help him take his shoes off once we got there (even with the quart of morphine in his veins, he couldn't bend over to do it himself).

The policeman at the scene told me quietly, "His angel was protecting him this time," and I agreed. When I repeated this to mon coeur, for once he didn't look dubious or irritated. There's only so many times a person can be that kind of lucky.

The boy still adhered to the military rule of No PDA While in Uniform. Wouldn't even let me touch his face a little in the parking lot next to his shattered car, nor while leaving the hospital with his pound of prescription drugs. Sigh. My man is fastidious at the weirdest of times.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante