Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Falling Short
2006-05-28 - 12:24 a.m.

Feeling: spiky
Listening to: Belle and Sebastian - Judy and the Dream of Horses
Reading/Watching: Anne of Green Gables

Ever read back over something you wrote long ago, and feel intimidated by the strength and certainty of your own words?

I remember back when I was so certain of how my future would unravel, so certain of what I used to be, and what contributed to who I was, and how in the end I was about 90% wrong in all my hypotheses. How I fell short of my own standards in the long run.

Because looking back now, I was just as scared, just as insecure, just as ugly and small and gray. I just had better words for it, words with more fight to them. Now I'm still small and gray, but I recognize it as such. And I'm too self-aware to pretend I know what's coming, so I just sharpen my edges, preparing for the moment when someone steps on me, so that at least I can retaliate with pinpricks.

Before, I would have believed that by now I'd be capable of growing to full height, brandishing weapons of my own. But in the end I barely have the strength to hold a shield.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante