Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Practice Run
2005-10-07 - 11:57 p.m.

Feeling: cheerful
Listening to: Honeyflood - Buddha
Reading/Watching: finishing Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife (the fanfic pr0n)

Tomorrow, mon coeur's twin brother gets married. I spent the day helping the bride decorate the reception hall, cleaning my apartment, and inflating a double-size air mattress for my impending guests: the groom's mom and grandmother (who are, luckily, also going to be my mom and grandmother come April, so it's less weird). It's like a warm-up for the real thing; I get to see what problems crop up, which things I should take care of in advance, and how his family interacts with a large, jovial, chatty bunch of people. And the beauty is, I get to do all of this without having to be The Bride, in charge and trying to single-handedly hold everything together.

I have learned one thing from this experience: it is good to gather a large group of friends and family, give everyone a to-do list, and go have a cup of tea while delegating authority and letting everyone else deal with it, instead of stressing and changing plans and trying frantically to hang eighty million yards of tulle in 2 hours with the help of only two people.

Thank God both sides of my family are stereotypically Catholic and love to reproduce. This provides me with an endless supply of conscripted wedding slaves helpers.

Tonight I had tea in my kitchen with my future mother- and grandmother-in-law, and it was so comfortable, you'd think we did it all the time, instead of this being their first time in Texas, ever, and only having met them a few months ago. It made me happy. I might even work up the courage to call her Mom soon.

(The funny part is, that was the one thing that most freaked me out about marriage: having to adopt yet more crazy, tweaky, quirky family.)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante