Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Dress
2005-10-10 - 11:59 p.m.

Feeling: girly
Listening to: purple martins singing
Reading/Watching: Desperate Housewives & Grey's Anatomy

Saturday, my future in-laws met my parents.

It started off quite well: my mom and dad drove to Schoolville and got a hotel room, and then Saturday morning I picked up Mom and took her and my Other Mom and Other Grandma to one of the bridal shops I liked, to show them the two dresses I found there. (I was actually a bit shy about inviting my Other Mom, because I wasn't sure she'd be interested, since she's not quite as girly as I am, but I should have known... there are very, very few women who don't like wedding dresses. They're magical in that way.)

While at the shop, the consultant (who insisted I schedule an appointment a week in advance) didn't even notice us come in, and was completely preoccupied with other people, so we slipped into the back and I began rummaging through the racks for my two dresses.

Other Mom walked to a rack on the far wall, and after a few minutes called out, "Look! I want to get married in this one!"

I turned around, laughing, and she was holding up the kind of gown I normally would've bypassed for myself, because I wouldn't expect it to look good on me. I agreed that it was lovely and turned right back to locating the two dresses I was interested in.

Upon finding them, Mom helped me get them on, and I paraded them in front of the mirror, discussing couture details that would make anyone in possession of testosterone roll his eyes, groan, and look around for something sports-related to distract him. Other Mom continued to hold on to the dress she found, until I was finished with the other two, and she checked the size on the one she was carrying and mentioned that it might fit me.

I shrugged, and decided to try it on to humor her.

Fifteen minutes later, Mom charged it to her credit card, and we packed it into my trunk, ready to take it home. No need to order it from a catalog, or shop around to make sure we had the best deal. Just like that.

I put it on, and I knew. The best part? It doesn't need a single alteration. No hemming, no bustling, no taking in or letting out. Yay for Other Mom. I think that was a big moment for us: it made all residual awkwardness melt away. I was hesitant to invite her to come shopping, and then she found my wedding dress for me. (She even found one that was exactly half what I'd been budgeting. Even my mother liked the price... downright silly, how simple it was.)

Then we drove to the little Mediterranean caf� where mon coeur and I want to have the rehearsal dinner, and my parents talked with Other Mom and Other Grandma about all manner of things, including breeding sheep, ranching, and growing up on farms. It was quite entertaining just to listen (being a city slicker with no experience in vegetables, farming, or animal husbandry), and they seemed to enjoy each other's company, which makes any number of things easier to handle in the future. Plus, my dad seemed to think it cute and kind of funny that Other Mom found my dress, and when he saw it he got all quiet and sentimental and hugged me.

Since I'm sure I lost the interest of my male audience several paragraphs ago, I'll wind things up here by saying that anyone who wants to see pictures of the gown may comment or sign the guestbook with her e-mail address, and I will send photos (notice how I totally know it will all be girls doing the commenting?). I have finally tackled a major bridalistic hurdle. I think it's going to get easier from here on out.

Next on the list: finally picking a caterer. Hoboy. That part requires rejecting people, and I think I'm taking it far too personally. They shouldn't let people like me be in charge of such things.

There. Gentlemen, you may reclaim your testosterone.

Comments? 5 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante