Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Club
2002-11-29 - 12:05 a.m.

Feeling: Full. Three kinds of pie. THREE KINDS, I tell you.
Listening to: Tenacious D - Inward Singing
Reading/Watching: The Dragon Token, Melanie Rawn

Okay, there is obviously a Club out there. A Club of people who know about computers beyond what shows on the monitor, who compare capabilities of their systems and even talk of "cannibalizing" machines to supe up what they have.

I am, quite obviously, not a part of this club.

And I thought I was still on the upper half of the computer-literate scale, at least where my family is concerned, because I can wander through the hallowed hallways of a PC without freaking it out, like both my parents have an astonishing talent for doing.

But no, today my father, little brother, and sister got started talking about computers, and how Dad and Puppy are considering replacing the motherboard on the old computer, and about when they installed the CD-RW themselves, and somehow it was a merging of manly competence and nerdly know-how and they just chattered away until Puppy turned to me and said, "For instance, Katie, how much RAM do you have?"

I blinked and said, "Uh... I don't know."

Because I know how much disk space I have (30 gigs, which, believe it or not, I have nearly filled), I know the cable connection speed is supposed to be up to 1 meg/sec. I have not explored my computer in depth. It's like my car. I know Luna can go faster than I can run, so it doesn't matter how much horsepower she gets.

So as they chattered on, I sat like an idiot and felt like babbling, "I have a Dell Latitude. Her name is Delilah. She's black and shiny and she's my friend."

I wound up retreating to the kitchen, hugging my mother as she made the dressing and saying, "Mommy, talk to me in English."

I am clearly not in The Club. It makes me want to buy The Complete Idiot's Guide to Something Only a Complete Idiot Would Pay Twenty Bucks to Learn About so I can squeeze in the back door somehow.

Can't somebody start a conversation about European poets? Or maybe the influences of Wagner and Verdi on opera divas? How about the scary tendency to shortness among males on my college campus?

Oh, wait. Forgot; I'm the only one who cares about that crap.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante