Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Battery
2003-10-11 - 10:49 a.m.

Feeling: anticipatory
Listening to: Sarah McLachlan - Fear
Reading/Watching: Sword-Maker. Mmm, reading in bed.

Well, this is quiet. It's nice.

Yesterday, after my second all-nighter this week, I spent my time bustling around as usual (albeit at a slower pace), and made the discovery that my body only had enough energy to run one half of my brain at a time.

Half the time I walked around in brittle clarity, detached and assessive, unexcited about anything because emotions required too much forethought and would necessitate an active reaction that I didn't have the strength to muster. I couldn't laugh at jokes, I couldn't be sympathetic to people's bad days, I couldn't do anything but function on my most basic, robotic level in order to stay upright.

The other half of the time I was a bundle of nerves, no rational cognitive process whatsoever, oddly incensed by the slightest perceived insult and crushed by the most meagre of mistakes. I could do nothing but feel, and stumble, and be overwhelmed, and want to run away to hide and cry and oh yeah, sleep for eighty years.

Although I'm sure most people noticed no difference.

But today, I am an empty battery plugged to the wall. Nothing but PJs, rented DVDs, possibly popcorn and hot tea, grocery shopping later. A long day of nothings. When I am not up and racing through life, I wind up here: comatose.

It's really nice, today. I might even be recharged by nightfall.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante