Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Recital - 7 days and counting
2002-04-21 - 8:38 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Woo! Go me! I got all my program notes and translations done for the recital on Sunday. The darned program's gonna be at least 6 pages long.

But I still rock. :) I hunted down every single translation book, borrowed some Italian and German dictionaries (already had my French one), used the crappy translation sites online (never ever use them... they are evil and don't know bunkus), and when in doubt, inferred a bit. I'm good with Latin roots, so it wasn't too hard.

Program notes were extra fun, since I got to read up on every opera I'm featuring, every composer mentioned, and always add in an interesting fact, just to make it un-snoozy. Then I went back and edited to keep it from being 8 pages.

This is more work than writing a paper, 'cause I can't BS my way through this. Some diligent music major would find a mistake, point and say "Ha! She's a nimrod," and it would be bad.

For those who are interested (and for those who aren't, sucks to be you), here's my concert list, in order, just so you can salivate over how beautiful it's going to be (or praise the heavens above that you live in another state and are thereby not obligated to come).

Quia Respexit, from Bach's Magnificat (I even have an oboe player, yay me!)
Rejoice Greatly, from Handel's Messiah (couldn't get a violinist in time, sigh. And for those who wonder, it's the 4/4 version, not the triplet version.)
Spring Wind by Eric Thiman (duet with Abigail)
In dem Schatten meiner Locken (In the shade of my curls) by Hugo Wolf
Les Cloches (The Bells), Debussy version
Vergebliches Standchen (The Vain Serenade), by Johannes Brahms
Nuit d'�toiles (Starry Night), by Charles-Marie Widor

*Intermission*

Quando m'en vo from La Boh�me, by Puccini
La ci darem la mano with Jake, and Batti batti from Don Giovanni by Mozart
Sull' Aria with Claudia, and Crudel per che finora with Jake, from Marriage of Figaro by Mozart
The Willow Song from The Ballad of Baby Doe, by Douglas Moore (eee! D-6! fun notes!)

And, possibly, if the audience claps a bunch, I might do an encore with Art is Calling for Me, that fun one from Victor Herbert's The Enchantress. It's the first aria I learned here at school, and it's easy and cute.

Doode. I can't believe I typed all those little italic HTML thingies. I am such a nerd.

Side note: Whew. I was getting a funny feeling about how the page refused to load, so I highlighted the text and copied it just in case, and then lo and behold, the internet screwed up. Thank the Lord. If I'd had to re-type all those HTML tags I'd have murdered the little blue bear I won at the skeeball booth yesterday. (I know it sounds harsh, but he's the new kid on the playground and therefore would be the first to die. I haven't even named him yet. Meh.)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante