Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Dorks Diary Ring
2002-04-11 - 12:50 a.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Okay, I believe it's time to set some ground rules.

I have created a diaryring. And it's great. It's for dorks, because you are my people and I luvya. I worked to make the html code all cute, and I don't ask much, just that it show up somewhere on your diary.

Repeat: that it show up somewhere on your diary.

Rule #1- If you have no special layout, this is fine. I don't discriminate. I had a template too, once. This is cool with me. But please have your notes feature turned on, or a guestbook, so I can let you know you're in the ring. I can't e-mail every last person; takes too long.

Rule #2- If you're changing your layout, please wait until you have your rings page in order before trying to join, because if not, it leads into the next rule:

Rule #3- NO FAKE RING PAGES. I want that "rings" link to go somewhere. If you're too lazy to create the page, then I'm too lazy to accept you. And yes, I do check.

Rule #4- Display rings somewhere. I know your layout is pretty. I know you may have slaved over it for hours, even if it was just hours spent combing through a free designer's page. But I don't care how pretty it is, I don't care if it blows my mind, I don't care if I love it and want to have your layout's children. It's only fair to the other members to display that ring code somewhere.

Rule #5- No pages with passwords. What the heck is wrong with you people? If it has a password, how am I going to view it? How is anyone going to view it?

Okay, that's it. I still make random visits, because I like keeping current, seeing how y'all are doing, etc. If I find you've not added the code, and I wrote in your guestbook or notes section over seven days ago, I give you a one-week warning. After the warning period (2 weeks total), I delete you. I'm sorry, but I have to, to be fair.

If you're reading this thinking, "God, she's anal," you'd be right. I just thought I'd do something fun and surf the entire ring this weekend, all 190 members, and I was upset when I realized just how many people join the rings without having the courtesy to put the code somewhere in there. It's not that hard. I went through deleting members when I found those that violated the above rules, and now the ring has 132 members.

132. From 190. This is why I made the ring join-on-approval instead of automatic, and this is why I have these rules.

But please do join, we're a fun little ring, and I speak from experience when I say it gets used often. Welcome. Didn't mean to scare ya. :)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante