Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

I would like, if I may, to take you on a strange journey...
2007-01-26 - 12:48 a.m.

Feeling: witchy with a B
Listening to: 4 Non-Blondes: What's Up
Reading/Watching: RHPS

I was sick last time Bork did the Shadowcast of Rocky Horror (actors play out the dialogue while the movie rolls in the background) so I decided I would definitely see it this time. Mon coeur had work early in the morning, so I went alone, and sat in the back row.

It was fun, especially with so many new cast members, but the group sitting in the back row with me was not fun. I know you're supposed to yell things at the screen during Rocky, I get that improv and audience participation are encouraged. But these three people arrived drunk, downed another two pitchers of beer in the first half of the show, and were yelling obscenities every five seconds at the actors, not the movie, heckling and basically making asses of themselves.

Finally, I snapped at them to shut up. And they started yelling back at me, instead. Of course. The chick even told me "Go clean your glasses, you Harry Potter nerd," and I laughed and snarked "Oh no, you called me a nerd." (For the record, I was not wearing any HP memorabilia. I just had glasses on, and apparently this was the best put-down she could think of.)

Then they threw their beer pitcher. Whether it was actually at me, or at the floor, it shattered loudly and they continued to yell at me to meet them outside (during which, obviously, I just stared at the screen and tried to ignore them), until one of the poor theater attendants came along and told them to leave.

They tried to protest that I started it, that I was obviously drunk and trying to start trouble, but the theater attendant, having personally served me my large Diet Coke, didn't really buy it. So they left. As she walked past me, the drunk chick spat on me and said a few choice things. It was classy. I'm not proud of what I said back (I've never called someone a filthy c___ before, but at least it was at a reasonable decibel instead of a drunken screech).

I wiped off the spit on my arm, discovered I had some in my hair, and took down my ponytail to wipe it off. The theater attendant came back to me, apologizing and asking if I was okay, and I was surprised to realize it was Andrew, who I worked at Info with about three years ago. He's still a complete cutie-button. I apologized back and admitted that I had told them to be quiet, but apparently three people had already gone to the staff and complained, so the manager was thinking of tossing them anyway.

So yeah. Later the Master of Ceremonies announced that the loud group in the back had been kicked out, and the audience applauded. I felt a bit like taking a bow. All it took was getting spit on a little.

Afterward, the show was much more enjoyable. It's been a long time since I saw the movie all the way through. If they let Magenta stay that fully dressed during the live show, I might even want to play her. As it is, I'll stick with auditioning for a backup transylvanian.

Unless, of course, I drop 40 pounds and become eligible to play Janet Weiss. Because that'll happen.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante