Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Schwalbennester sounds (and looks) like a dirty word
2007-05-04 - 8:51 p.m.

Feeling: flighty
Listening to: 30 Odd Foot of Grunt - Sail Those Same Oceans
Reading/Watching: nothing.

Gem of the evening:

After eating a VERY large meal at the biergarten in Fredericksburg, mon coeur and I were window-shopping up and down the street (the chocolate shop closed at 6... boooo). Okay, so I was window shopping, and he was waddling behind me, after downing half an appetizer of nachos, salad, schwalbennester* with purple cabbage and noodles, two big fat German beers, and half of my Mississippi mud pie.

He groaned. "I feel like Humpty Dumpty."

I gave him a sympathetic glance. "Do you need to be put back together again?"

"No, I feel big and round like the guy who ate his own children."

Doubletake. "Did what? Humpty Dumpty never ate his own children."

He shrugged. "Okay, so a cannabilistic Humpty Dumpty."

My mind boggled. "That's not what Humpty Dumpty did! He fell off a wall and there were king's horses and men and stuff!"

"Okay, so what do you call someone who eats their children?"

"Sick? Twisted? A hamster?"

...So that was today. That, and climbing Enchanted Rock, which was tiring and lovely and resulted in some gorgeous, gorgeous pictures, which I will post later.

*schwalbennester: It's German for "swallow's nest", and it's basically three kinds of meat wrapped around two boiled eggs, smothered in thick mushroom sauce. Due to the way it's presented on the plate, I've also been known to call it "horse penis."

Edited to add: Due to SignMyGuestbook being down for several weeks now (methinks there was an overabundance of adspam that people didn't delete), I have changed my guestbook to a-free-guestbook.com. Go sign it to make sure it works!.

Comments? 4 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante