Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Secret Life of Meg March
2000-06-19 - 21:38:33

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I was driving today and saw this mini-golf place, Mountasia... have you ever been there? I haven't. I don't know why, because I love mini-golf (even though, like playing pool, I really really stink at it) and it's not like it's far away or even that expensive, according to a friend of mine. I should go sometime. I bet they don't have Mountasia at college. :) (actually I bet they do, but I prefer to be melodramatic about it. :o�)

And I just love (blatant sarcasm alert) how, since summer's picked up, girls from TPO are e-mailing me with their stories, telling me I can edit them. Not asking, telling. :) No "please" or "thank you". It's like, "Yes, I'm granting you with the gift of spending thirty minutes to an hour looking at my writing and telling me how to fix it. Bow down and be properly honored." Some girls are really nice and ask very sweetly and don't take offense when I'm honest (I know that something like writing can be intensely personal, and people don't want their hard work criticized) and I love working with them, but then there are those others... grr. The ungrateful children. :)

Which makes me take pity on my cousin (will not reveal her name, obviously)- she's fifteen and edits young adult books (I know, she's amazing). She gets paid per book, of course, and she's incredibly good at editing. I send her my stuff all the time. But my new experience with rude or touchy writers makes me feel kinda bad about times when she says she doesn't understand something I'm saying or that my dialogue seems unrealistic- I can't help but get defensive, so I try to quell it for her sake, 'cause it's for my own good anyway. You can never be too humble, I think. Because if she's like me, she'd love to tell off some of the particularly presumptuous little pipsqueaks, but can't.

That got me thinking about all the things I've always wanted to do, but never did. And thus I invented the Secret Life of Meg March. Did you ever wish you had one? It's kind of a cool thing to think about... imagine how it would go. Not the leap-tall-buildings-in-a-single-bound type stuff, but more realistic (but fun) things.

"On the surface she seems like an ordinary, boring 18-year-old girl, spending her days helping pre-teens with stories, working on her webpage, writing, and generally sitting around wasting her summer. But in secret, she's the dashing socialite who plays mini-golf all the time, knows how to do cartwheels, never goes flat on low notes, and never ever has a bad hair day... she writes e-mails that are so fascinating that people can't help but reply to them, sings high high E's on a daily basis, and is never too self-conscious to say and do exactly what she wants."

I almost sound like a superhero, lol. Which makes me wonder what my superhero name would be. Big-Hair Woman? The Dorkinator? Screech Girl? hm.

I hope this reading experience has gotten you thinking seriously on your possibilities as a superhero. :) What would your superpower be?

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante