Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Shifting Gears
2006-07-04 - 11:13 p.m.

Feeling: invigorated
Listening to: Garbage - Right Between the Eyes
Reading/Watching: The Grieving Tree, by Don Bassingthwaite

Today, I had my first job interview in about a year. I used to have them once a month or so, as I sent out wave after wave of applications following graduation, but then I gave up on crappy part-time jobs and focused on singing, teaching, and subbing.

Then summer came, and I wasn't cast in any of the three plays I was interested in doing, and I went crazy and ate my own foot out of boredom. So I went to an interview at Borders this morning, and I feel it went quite well, since the girl who interviewed me shook my hand and said, "My supervisor, (Name), is the one who does the second interview, so she'll be contacting you about that."

In a word: yay! It's a good place to start, and a good place to potentially stay and work through graduate school. Plus, you know I'll be using that employee discount.

It saddens me a little to think that once I'm working there, I'll have to turn down new voice students, and do some fancy footwork to schedule my (four) existing ones. It makes things easier that two of my students have canceled their lessons until August, so I would have time to regulate my schedule a bit, if possible, but these past few weeks have convinced me that this is a change that needs to be made. Particularly when I consider the ratio of lesson-inquiries to the number of students that actually show up for an introductory lesson (about four to one). And of the number that show up for that first lesson, less than half stick around beyond a month, because they discover it's too expensive, singing is harder than they thought, their schedules don't allow time, they're not instantly Kelly Clarkson, whatever.

I love teaching the people I have. Love it. But until I can have an actual vocal studio at a school somewhere, I think voice lessons should go on the back burner while I focus on my own education, which will never happen when I'm moving everything around for a handful of people who don't show up about a third of the time.

So I have a very good feeling about this job interview, because the woman interviewing me was maybe a year or two older than me, not much more, and every time she asked me one of the written interview questions, my answer would spark a conversation between us, and we'd wind up talking about people who come to job interviews wearing beach sandals (seriously, in case you were wondering, there is never a job, barring that of a lifeguard, where it's okay to show up in flip-flops). She seemed quite cool, and I think I would really enjoy working under her. I'm old enough now to appreciate a job with steady hours, no food stains, and a relaxed dress code. And I'll definitely feel better once I'm depositing more than $100 a week into my checking account.

Plus, it rained today. It rained while the sun set and then while fireworks exploded over the tops of the buildings. That's just the ending I needed. Raindrops fell lightly on the ground, on my head and shoulders, and I closed my eyes and leaned over the balcony to enjoy it, getting that feeling of everything's going to turn out all right. And really, who doesn't like that feeling?

Comments? 4 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante