Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

...and the narcolepsy hits.
2010-11-20 - 5:20 a.m.

Feeling: excited and liberated
Listening to: the 5:15 alarm clock, which I forgot to re-set. shoot.
Reading/Watching: Wonderfalls

Okay, so I meant to update last night, but instead I fell asleep at 8:30, sitting upright on the couch watching Wonderfalls with Will.

Nowwww I tell you... I totally wussed out on teaching today (well, yesterday, but correcting myself on this point will take forever, so let's just say it was today).

On the last day before a break (anything longer than a 3-day weekend), I'm lucky if students stay focused for more than 50% of the time. Furthermore, I'm lucky if they remember more than 25% of what I taught them on that day.

My first two choirs did a run-through of the Christmas musical with the theater classes (we're combining our beginners to perform forty minutes of concentrated, intense cuteness. In reindeer antlers and elf hats. That's really what it boils down to). Half my babies are sick with something, so the singing was a little scratchy and wispy. They truly love watching the theater "action" on stage while they sing, and I'm getting it out of their system before the performance.

My final class of the day (the eye-rolling Advanced class) is painfully behind, so we needed the practice. Worked intensely on one song. That's really all we could manage. They will, of course, remember 25% of it. Maybe less.

In between, my boys and intermediate girls watched The Sandlot and Thumbelina. I worked on paperwork, wrote out lesson plans, double-checked the calendar, and sent e-mails. I felt like I should have apologized to someone for it, but the kids obviously thought I was the coolest teacher in history. My boys have this weird habit of literally singing my praises (to the tune of "Carol of the Bells") every time I do something they like.

Good news is, everything's set up for a lovely, luxurious week off. I have some sight-reading to grade, some parents to call about chaperoning (why do choirs have to take fifty million trips in the month of December? Every place we go, I have to fill out four different forms, and we're going to three different places in three weeks, on top of the advanced concert and the beginners' musical).

Oh, and I have to write my full-length research and analysis on Haydn's "Creation" for grad class. Just a, y'know, minor task. (To give you an idea: the full score is a 150-page book.)

But I get to be home! While I work! Meaning a whole week of being in the same room with Will, who greeted me when I came home with a hug, a kiss, and a bowl of cheesy spaghetti and meatballs.

Feeling pretty good about this week.

Plus! Renfest!! Tomorrow!!!

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante