Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Bed
2003-06-11 - 11:18 p.m.

Feeling: old
Listening to: Good Charlotte - Pretzel Sex
Reading/Watching: Dragons of a Lost Star

My parents came from Hometown to bring me some old furniture they didn't want, and I am now sleeping on the same bed I used when I was finally old enough to leave the crib.

I am not kidding. Claire, remember the one you put the Journeys stickers on? The one with "C + J" in permanent marker on the underside of the mattress board? The mattress with the tiny cigarette burn that you insisted was incense? Yes, I have that bed.

This is the bed I jumped on when I was four years old, this is the bed my best friend Rachel and I used to bounce on so it would squeak and we would laugh uproariously because it sounded like "X" (because fourth-graders can't say "sex" or they'll go straight to hell).

It is the bed I slept in from age four or five until I left for college, and I just realized, it is probably the bed I will lose my virginity in.

(Pause to let all my lifelong friends run away and hyperventilate at the thought... okay, and we're recovered now.)

It is a very, very freaky thought. Because I will most likely be living in this apartment until I graduate college. And that means I'll have that bed until then. And I sure as hell hope I find someone to fall in love with before I graduate, because going to grad school without having ever been in love would be rather sad.

So that bed. Will be The Bed. Talk about pressure.

It's hilarious; I'm already considering moving the butterflies hanging over my headboard because they aren't exactly conducive to thoughts of "hubba hubba", and I know I'd have to flip over the pictures of my family, because it would be weird having my parents grinning at me from across the room as I'm getting my freak on.

*Hastily changing topic*: I also got my class ring, and it's beautiful and antique gold with a blue stone and it looks so official, but on my finger it looks fake. It's rather disturbing.

God, adulthood is creeping up on me. I didn't even see it coming.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante