Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

A Three-Pronged Attack
2006-06-20 - 2:55 p.m.

Feeling: hopeful
Listening to: Vast - Touched
Reading/Watching: Scrubs, season 2

First, I must honor my lovely husband in his sage advice to the males of our species: Guys, be like your penis. (I read this and laughed for a full five minutes straight. Because it is so out of character for him.)

So far, my three-pronged attack in the War on Boredom is working quite well.

First attack, collecting job applications and sending them in. I won't hear from them for at least a week or two (as is standard), but that gives me time to finish with phase two, which is:

Audition for two different plays that look interesting, and if I get cast, I can tell prospective employers about my very interesting schedule availability. If I don't get cast, I still have those job applications out there. The first audition, last night, seemed to go rather well, since they were looking for a childish-yet-adult character with a sweet, bubbly personality who is also mentally retarded. That's pretty much me in a nutshell. The second audition is next Monday, for Shakespeare's Comedy of Errors, which I have been in before. I played the Courtesan. And we all know how much I love whorin' it up, so the audition should be fun.

If neither play works out, I can still move on to phase three: making myself useful by helping out as a techie for Carousel, a musical in which I may not have been cast, but several of my friends were. It tends to be a good time just counting ceiling tiles with these people, so I wouldn't mind operating a spotlight or helping people with costumes in the meantime.

And of course, all of this is accompanied by a constant onslaught of attempting to write, and teaching myself new piano pieces. Neither one makes any money (and hey, actors' stipends barely cover gas costs), but they make me feel like I'm accomplishing something. Trapped in this place between the hallway and the door, unsure if we're going to stay or go in the next few months, I can't possibly make real progress in anything but self-assigned projects.

So that's where it is. Cross your fingers and hope I get some interesting phone calls these next few weeks.

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante