Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Train and Matchbox 20 (i.e. Katie (the loser)'s 1st Official Concert)
2001-09-09 - 10:18 a.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Okay. Just a few words from me. Train. MB20. The Pavilion.

OHMYGOD I loved it. :) (Technically wasn't my first concert, since I saw Tonic last spring, but that was free (since I worked a booth) and at my school during Oyster Bake, soooo...)

Okay, so more than a few words. My brother Brian and I left at 5:15 for the 7:00 concert, unsure how long it would take to get there. Didn't get lost at all, and despite the mammoth walk from the free parking to the pavilion, we were in our seats by 6:00. Very cool. Brian and I got food (Chili's was sponsoring so we had chicken fingers, southwestern eggrolls and fries with two embarrassingly large drinks) and ate listening to an opener guy named Peter Stuart who was actually pretty decent, though Brian said his guitar changes were a bit choppy. But for just a guy and an acoustic, he kept me entertained. At 7 another opener dude named David Garza played, and he bored me a bit... all except his last two songs were kinda "hmm, looking at my fingernails now" and I wanted to jump up and down and say, "GET TRAIN OUT HERE DAMMIT" but I didn't. :) And hey, David, if you're reading this... I did like your last two songs muchly. :)

At 7:45 Train comes out, the lead guy in a bright orange shirt- the man is crazy, but fun. :) He was doing this freaky silly dancing and swiveling his hips and it was so funny. He called Rob Thomas the sexiest man alive, lol. They opened with She's On Fire, then Stay and I was thinking, "what, are they playing the whole CD in order?" but then ahhh, Meet Virginia and Free and a couple others (Getaway, Something More, etc.) and then they closed with Drops of Jupiter which had everyone on their feet screaming. I so wanted them to do an encore but the stupid stadium people wouldn't take up the chant with Brian and me so bleh. Only 45 minutes of Train.

Then half an hour break, where Peter Stuart's back on the little stage near the concessions, cute but unfortunately bald (why do guys think that's sexy?) and at 9:00, Matchbox 20 takes the stage. They opened with Burn, which I thought was kinda odd for an opener, but oh well. Then Crutch, and Leave, and Black & White People, and then they laid on the hits. :) Bent, allll the hits from "Yourself or Somebody Like You," Rest Stop, Last Beautiful Girl ("I wanna dedicate this one to all the lovely ladies out there tonight"- I yelled, hee hee), and an extremely impassioned rendition of You Won't Be Mine, which is only my favorite right now, so yayness abounded. Rob Thomas is very good on the piano.

They'd played for nearly an hour and a half, covering Remedy by the Black Crowes (Peter Stuart jazzed on the piano for Remedy, and it was so good... no wonder he's choppy on the guitar, he kicks patootie on the piano) and then they closed with Mad Season and tried to walk off stage...

The audience was havin' none of it. The fun of the Pavilion is, the chairs recline slightly, so make a loud noise when one batters them with the hands. We did that for three frickin' minutes before Rob came back out, grabbed an acoustic and started "Time After Time" by Cyndy Lauper, which was cool b/c his lead guitarist came out after the first chorus and added harmony.

No wonder girls have crushes on Rob Thomas. He is incredibly sexy, with his shaggy hair and the way his neck muscles strain when he's putting his heart into a song. Though I'd date the Train frontman first, 'cause he's just so cute and goofy and my type. But no, Katie does not crush on strangers, so there.

We wound up having four encores. :) It was great. Second was If You're Gone (I knew they were saving that for an encore... it's too good to not use) then Watchtower by Dylan (I know, I thought it was Hendrix too, but eh bien), then finally Stop, which seemed appropriate, heee. Ohsogood. They played from 9-11. Two frickin' hours. I so admire them for that.

Though I still wanted Train to do one more song. Bleh.

We walked back to the car surrounded by drunk people, lol. Drove home and got magnificently lost, so it was 12:15 before we walked in the door, heee. But it was a laid-back, 'we know what street we're on' kinda lost. We just took the long way around to get back on course, singing along with Fiona Apple the whole time.

I bought a t-shirt- a sort of olivey green Train one with "Did Venus Blow Your Mind" on the back. Wanted to get the blue one but I have wayyyy too many blue shirts. There was a cute-ish stretchy black one with "train" in little jewels on it in the scrawly-style they write their name on album covers, and I was about to get it, but then thought, "That's the 'I'm a cute little Train groupie' shirt. Never mind."

Eeehee. The line for MB20 shirts was so long. I felt like calling them all losers. Anytime someone did something dumb in their cars driving out I'd yell, "Drunk person!" and Brian and I were cracking up.

So yeah. :) Good times.

Definitely checking up on concerts coming over Christmas break.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante