Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Promising Beads
2005-06-01 - 10:38 a.m.

Feeling: stymied
Listening to: Jennifer Knapp - Martyrs and Thieves - "I am not afraid"
Reading/Watching: The Eye of the World, Robert Jordan

Today I did a mass of lesson-inquiry follow ups (i.e. I called and e-mailed and reminded every person who has ever e-mailed me asking about rates and schedule, hoping for some more nibbles).

It's still aggravating that the only woman who actually scheduled a lesson flaked out on it (on my birthday) without calling and now won't return my calls.

Other than that, I don't know where to begin. Are there classified ads for people wanting a singer? If I could just find a decent jazz ensemble or even a rock band, that would be perfect. Only problem is that the jazz musicians I know of are all still students and, quite frankly, there were only three of them that I'd work with again. We had some negative vibes by the end of the year.

I suppose it would be better to apply for something part-time and steady, just to keep the bottom from dropping out. I'll begin there and continue the search for a group to work with.

A few days ago, I babysat for the orthodox priest and his wife, and when they came home, the wife talked about the jazz club they went to, how the singer was a disappointment, growling and forcing her voice, and the thought kept crossing my mind, "I could do that." I used to croon, whisper, sob, and soar across three octaves, and I didn't get a dime for it. I mentioned the thought to mon coeur, and he was all encouragement, but does he know who I need to call? No, not so much.

It's like having mountains of beautiful glass beads, and no wire or thread to string them together.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante