Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Something I wish I had on a placard around my neck.
2007-07-31 - 6:21 p.m.

Feeling: omfgjeebuscripesnmghlythgmrph
Listening to: John Mayer - Man on the Side
Reading/Watching: plays and things

"Ma'am, today we are both understaffed and having an unexpected rush of business. I'm sorry it took the kitchen so long to get to your order, but I definitely appreciate you taking it out on me. There are two waitresses and two chefs to run this entire restaurant. I earn $2.00 an hour, and as you may have guessed, I have been having a wonderful day. Thank you for contributing to it."

~ What I said to a rude bitch who stiffed me on the tip, and then walked up to me afterward to continue complaining and "explain" why she stiffed me on the tip.

Afterward, she sort of spluffed and walked away, I cleaned off two more tables (and discovered I'd been stiffed by both of those, too). I then took a thirty-second break to walk outside, so I didn't snap someone's neck or burst into tears. Never smoked a single thing in my life, but I felt like I needed a cigarette. I'd quit, but I know what that would do to my friends there, the poor waitresses who would be left behind and even more understaffed.

The owner is selling the place tomorrow, not that she told us (I found out this morning). It's why we haven't hired any new waitresses (despite desperately needing them) since I was hired in early April. It's why we are short on just about every food supply, why none of the broken chairs or plates have been replaced, and why we didn't have enough chairs or cooks or damned chicken salad to handle the massive lunch crowd.

Today was a fabulous day.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante