Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Countdown Begins
2006-04-23 - 12:19 a.m.

Feeling: fan. fucking. tastic.
Listening to: Fleetwood Mac - Landslide
Reading/Watching: --

Okay, so it's officially The Week.

Holy God, it's actually happening. I am so out of it, I have no idea how to describe how I'm feeling. I'm jumping out of my skin, so wired I can't stop babbling, so stressed and worried and anxious and thrilled that I can't tell a joke to save my life, I take everything too seriously, but absolutely nothing ruins my mood for very long because no matter what anyone says or does this week, I am getting married on Saturday.

I apologize to those who have tried to spend time with me this week, I am utterly not myself, weird and off-kilter and completely single-minded and unentertaining. Bouncing off the walls, and thus needing a little padded room.

It's going to be fun, though. I gave my girls their bridesmaids gifts, and luckily they liked them. The lunch was fun, as laid-back as I was hoping, and we never lacked for conversation. Everyone seems happy: busy, but happy. That's all I want.

The first out-of-town groomsman, our friend Sith, came into town today, and he's exactly the same, sweet and full of flattery and an extreme romantic (when we told him about mon coeur getting orders for Korea, he literally said, "Don't worry. Love conquers all.") He still stutters, but after so many years, I almost don't notice it anymore, and I honestly think it's fading. I've missed him.

And Matt comes in tomorrow from Korea, bringing tons of pirated anime and gaming equipment. It's going to be odd, having the boys all together again. It's been so very long.

But it's already feeling comfortable, especially the way they talk all at once and tumble over each others' words, going on for over an hour about paintball, and D&D, and this or that MMO, and Persephone and I wind up sharing significant it-must-be-a-guy-thing type looks.

Favorite moments of today:

- Singing "Harbor" not once, or twice, but five times in the car with Krynn, driving to and from the bridesmaids' luncheon. She has my same passion for singing in harmony, and I love her for it.

- Mag Mud. That is all I have to say; those that know will understand.

- The drive back from dinner, in which Sith spent the entire time trying to convince me to try out for American Idol, so that after I make it out to L.A. I can hang out with him.

Side note: Why does no one hear me when I say I don't really want or need that? Not all people are born wanting a record contract, especially not wanting the opportunity to debase oneself on television so that they can either be utterly humiliated and mocked nationwide, or somehow make the one-in-a-million odds that they have exactly the right combination of pretty-and-talented (in that order) and become someone's property for X amount of years. Meh. I just don't know if it's worth it. (Besides, even if I made it, I know I'd spend the entire time wishing I was home with my husband, rehearsing for a play and teaching my students.)

...wow. Tangent. But look! I talked about something other than the wedding for five whole minutes! Yay me!

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante