Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

After the Great Flood
2007-12-10 - 11:21 p.m.

Feeling: annoyed to all Hell, Haiti, and Haversack.
Listening to: Audioslave, because it's the only CD I own that doesn't make me want to sing and hurt myself.
Reading/Watching: Cats

A weekend of nothing.

A weekend of furniture and belongings all topsy-turvy and frustrating with underwear cabinets in the kitchen blocking the fridge, and the wet carpet mellowing to damp and then musty and then rank.

Monday. Three telephone calls to the apartment manager, each time she's not in the office or out on site giving a tour or making faces and flipping the bird at the phone (well maybe not, but gauging the response we were getting, it's not so far from the truth).

I get home from work and walk into the apartment office. I am told the carpet cleaners already took care of the "wet rooms", so I'm all set. Um, no thank you, I reply. The living room may not have been "wet", but it is now decidedly damp and swampiferous. Oh, the carpet always smells a bit off when you replace the carpet padding. How fascinating. Does that mean other portions of the apartment should stink pre-emptively because they know new padding is on the way? Clever carpet.

Okay, so perhaps the damp extended to my living room. Let's go see. I'll move the couch two inches over and, yup, feel that lovely wet-sponge feeling? That's where the Clever, Pre-emptively Smelly Carpet lives.

So we have carpet cleaners coming in tomorrow to replace the remainder of the padding and steam-clean the entire apartment. We just have to move all our furniture out of the living room and dining room to clear the way.

Oh, only that? Why thank you. I was hoping for a project to fill my Monday evening, after such a dull weekend of musty smells and allergic reactions that are your fault.

(In case anyone was wondering, no I am not thrilled. But it's 11:30 and the damp rooms are cleared into our bedroom, which has become the Storage Room Elect while we hide in the Studio Apartment that used to be our upstairs guest room and bath. So we are clear for De-Musting tomorrow, and I can get some sleep. Grr.)

P.S.- I'm also writing the apartment manager a detailed letter of all the damages the carpet soaking caused, including peeling paint along the baseboards, staining, and a gouge in the kitchen wall from the carpet cleaners' equipment. No way am I losing my security deposit over this crap.

P.P.S.- I'm sure hurricane survivors are quite annoyed with me for being so peeved over stinky carpet. But you would be, too, if it was the fault of a moronic maintence man instead of a natural disaster.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante