Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Talking about work
2010-11-11 - 1:03 a.m.

Feeling: ramblicious (that's my word.)
Listening to: Ben Lee - We're All in This Together
Reading/Watching: Tropic Thunder

My students crack me up.

Aside from the fact that they're walking hormone-bombs who eat crazy pellets for breakfast, there are also moments of painful cuteness and naivet�, and the kinds of conversations we have that never fall under the umbrella of curriculum guidelines, but are still conversations that need to be had.

Like telling a girl that pimples really suck because they hurt and look bad and only get worse when you try to cover them, but I pinkie-swear nobody else notices them nearly as much as you do, because nobody else spends hours every day looking at your face like you do. And if you're sick of forehead pimples, maybe those thick vision-inhibiting side-swept emo bangs aren't the right choice.

I love being an adult who is not-a-mom. Moms have to say complimentary things, because they're moms, but not-a-moms only give compliments when they're deserved. Not-a-moms get a lot more respect (instead of eye-rolling) when they give advice, and not-a-moms can be goofy and undignified and it's no big thing.

Plus, today a kid at tutoring thought my Healthmiles pedometer was an ankle bracelet. He literally asked me in a sweet, lisping voice, "Miss, are you under house arrest, or school arrest?" He thought if I left campus with that on I might get an electric shock, like an inmate. I managed to answer and explain without dying of laughter, and for that I think I deserve a medal.

This job is hard. This job is long hours, and weekends. This job is annoying. This job is frustrating. This job falls short of my hopes, but exceeds my expectations. This job doesn't pay me enough, but still pays me far better than my last one. This job makes me laugh at least ten times a day. This job makes me shout at least ten times a day. This job has me walking between 8 and 13 THOUSAND steps every weekday. This job will make me crazy. This job is keeping me sane.

Thank God I have it. Took me long enough to get here.

P.S.- I came home to Will at 5:30, fell asleep at 7 without having dinner yet, and woke up shortly after midnight. I am still considering this to be part of Thursday.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante