Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Obligatory What-I-Got-For-Christmas List
2001-12-26 - 9:31 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I know I updated a couple hours ago, so if you haven't visited in a while, it's there, and it's way cooler than this one.

The trend in diaries seems to be the five-year-old-kid thing, the, "Look, Mommy, I got this!" tradition. So here.

1) Swell Foop, the latest Xanth novel by Piers Anthony. Read Faun and Games and Zombie Lover for suggestions from yours truly. :) Piers is very cool, and tries to put puns and quips from his readers in every book.

2) The Princess Bride and Robin Hood: Men in Tights from Brian. Apparently a Cary Elwes fest. Always loved that accent.

3) The new Jewel CD, This Way. Don't ask me how it is- I have to absorb it over half a dozen listens before I can form an opinion. Only CD to snag me on its first try was Stroke 9, Nasty Little Thoughts. Kudos to them. :) The Jewel one was from my older-and-less-discussed brother Matt, who also gave me some bath stuff. I know Mom told him I wanted the CD. The lotion and gel is a given girl-present. He and I never were best friends, but he tries. Bless him.

4) a gorgeous silver jewelry box worked in flowers, lined with scarlet velvet. Purty, though I know neither silver nor velvet is real. :) Big sis Claire knows my tastes well, it's lovely.

5) adhesive wall clips to hang my chili pepper lights on- they're like Christmas lights, only with purple plastic pepper covers on the bulbs, and they're so touristy and weird, I love 'em, but I wasn't going to be able to hang them in my room because the walls are concrete. Yay Mommy.

6) Gift certificate to Best Buy. I've already decided to help get a new Caselogic with it, the kind that holds 128 CDs. My two CD books (24 and 48) are bursting at the seams.

7) a microwave for my dorm room. Soglad my dad's cool like that. He knew you can't fix everything in a toaster (though Pop Tarts and thin-crust pizza both work in a toaster, and they account for half my diet up at school)

8) Dun dun dunnnn... the grand finale... a stereo! I've had little boomboxes my whole life, and finally I have a shelf system, the kind with separate speakers and a 3-CD changer. Happiness is a shelf system. I love I love I love I love.

But the best present, that wasn't even intended to be a present, was the fact that at dinner tonight, when I mentioned going back to school early to practice wedding music with the accompanist before the Big Day, January 19, Dad paused, muttering, "we have to drive up there twice in one week? Oh, no, wait, you'll be driving."

I'll be driving. Meaning the fender bender with the guardrail, although it sucks a lot and will cost much to be fixed, will not deprive me of self-transport next semester. This is wonderful.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante