Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Scheduling conflicts
2006-07-26 - 1:16 a.m.

Feeling: perturbed
Listening to: The Beatles - Across the Universe
Reading/Watching: The Grieving Tree... almost finished...

Just writing this to remind myself that I love my job, I love my job, even if they DO schedule me for three Saturday nights in a row and since they only need one cashier at a time, this means that everyone ELSE who could be doing it is getting the night off.

Mostly I'm irritated because I specifically asked to have next Friday afternoon off, because I have a doctor's appointment, and they don't realize this, but military doctors are pissy and if I cancel, I won't get another time slot for a month. But no, I'm scheduled 9-5 next Friday. Followed by working 5-12 on Saturday, for the third time. Awwwwwesome.

I sure hope this is just me paying my dues for being the new kid, because I do not want to be stuck with being the Saturday Night Cashier. That's quite uncool, especially since I have to sing at church on Sunday mornings. Grr.

But I love my job. Seriously. It's fun and simple, I like the people I work with, it's air-conditioned, it doesn't come with food stains, the dress code is very not-dressy-or-codey. Plus we spent a good twenty minutes after the little emo garage band finished their set in the cafe quietly mocking them on the private employee intercom system: the black t-shirts, the floppy/messy emo hair, the fact that--except for covers--every single song was a soulful (and shabbily written) ballad, the fact that forty minutes after their set was over, they were still just hanging around, not buying anything.

It's very difficult to hear the things my manager was saying and keep a straight face while I ring up customers, let me tell you. They probably all thought I was crazy.

I love my job. I just need to find a way to flip-flop my schedule, perhaps, and work Friday night and Saturday day, instead of the other way around. At least fruit punch Kool-aid with just a leeeetle bit of Midori makes the situation less annoying.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante