Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Slipping Farther
2003-10-23 - 11:48 p.m.

Feeling: squished
Listening to: Stone Sour - Bother
Reading/Watching: no reading! there is no TIME!

Having reviewed my graduation plan, and all the courses I still need, it has become clear:

Either I take 19 hours next semester, and 22 in the fall, or I take some kind of serious summer school (which is not covered by scholarships and would interfere with getting a job), or I extend my graduation another semester. Again.

It's maddening. It is NOT like I've been slacking off: my GPA is a 3.67, I have 108 credit hours rightthissecond, and at the end of this semester I will have 126. I still need 41 more, dammit.

How come they don't tell you about the music requirements up front?! I was told that all degrees are the same: 60 hours of core, 60 hours in your major, for a nice safe total of 120.

I came here with 15 hours of advanced credit, for goodness sakes. All things equal, I should have graduated early. And now I'm looking at a hellish 4.5 year degree, or possibly even 5. I'm not even double-majoring or getting a minor! It's all in the fricking extras, like the ensembles and lesson hours that they don't count in your degree plan because hey, those aren't hard, right? Just an hour or so of practice every day. Each. Plus fun things like masterclasses, mandatory non-credit courses, and those lovely 3-hour classes that only count for 1 hour credit.

Bloody hell.

Tomorrow I need to call home and tell my parents about what's going on, about how my mid-semester grades were less than stellar, how I'm an idiot and lazy and stupid and a huge disappointment, and how I'm kindasorta having a breakdown about this whole screwing-up-beyond-repair thing.

Lynne just called me randomly to say, "I just wanted to tell you I love you and I'm glad you're my friend." And I burst into tears. So. That's pretty self-explanatory.

Comments? 4 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante