Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

What if... ?
2000-10-29 - 08:57:33

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Interesting thought: what if you lost your memory, and relied on your friends' and family's information to know what your life was like before?

I was thinking about that and it had me fascinated for hours. What if? What if I woke up one morning with amnesia and didn't know anything about who I was, who I knew, what I did? What if I stayed here on campus trying to figure it out, and asked everyone who thought they knew me what I was like?

I wonder what they would say. I wonder what the amnesiac-me would think. Would I be shocked? Pleased? Disappointed? Would I listen to other people's versions of me and like what I heard? Would they give truthful accounts, or might anyone try to tell me something different?

It runs through my head. I picture what people would tell me, what they wouldn't... I wonder what I might figure out on my own, and how long it would take me to remember things. I wonder whether anyone would try to change who I am if given the chance.

A few people in particular spring to mind- online and offline. What would Charlie Brown say? What would the Dorks say? What would Jo say? What would Tiger say?

Start thinking about it. You'd be amazed how many questions it brings to mind, and amazed at what you hear people telling you.

Because if you can think of them telling you, it really helps you better understand what you think of yourself. And for me, it's pretty cool. I analyze the things I've done and said in my life without considering the doubts I might have had while doing them, since no one else would have known. And I think, "Maybe I'm too hard on myself after all."

Hey, just reading back over this diary and pretending I don't know this person makes me better understand myself. I'm pretty cool. :)

So go give yourself amnesia. See what springs to mind. It might be interesting.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante