Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

I really hope this doesn't embarrass her.
2004-11-07 - 1:46 p.m.

Feeling: j'aime ma soeur. elle est la difference.
Listening to: Course of Nature - Better Part of Me
Reading/Watching: The Devil Wears Prada

I would just like to state now, my sister Bear is among the top ten coolest people in the universe. The other nine include people like Tori Amos and Nelson Mandela.

It's funny, she almost never comes down to Schoolville to visit, because my hospitality is not the finest ("Come on over, you get your very own sleeping bag on the floor! Woo for my phat crib!"), but this time she came for the evening, bringing her little pug with her, and we basically chatted and wandered Schoolville for twenty-four hours, and I had a great time.

Everyone who met Bear has told me (today, no less, not an hour after she left) that she's a warm, funny person and they really hope she comes back soon. And I'm continually surprised by how much we're alike, even though we seemed like complete opposites until college.

It just struck me that we're at opposite ends of life right now, where she has a good job she likes, financial security, a beautiful apartment all to herself, and big lovely helpings of independence and intelligence, and I'm still in school, still needing help from our parents, very unsure about what I want my future to be, and I can't see myself becoming mentally independent any time soon.

But on the flip side, she admits to feeling a bit lonely, because she just got out of a long-term relationship that sort of limped to an end, and I'm happily ensconced in what occasionally threatens to become a co-dependent coupledom. (yeah, see, I really don't think they balance out, either)

I guess people underestimate the importance of that, sometimes. She's such a family-oriented person, she likes having people around to be affectionate with and look after, even though they shouldn't necessarily need her surveillance. And I'm the same way, I'm just forgetting how it felt to have that chasm between your ribs that wants someone.

But I'll say now what I said earlier: all the good ones cannot possibly be taken, because she hasn't found hers yet. So if you are a guy sitting at your computer wondering where all the non-dust-mop women are hiding, get out from behind your computer and look.

You don't need Friendster. You don't need Match.com, or IAmDesperate.org, or any other people-meeting websites. You just need to go outside, and bring a mouth with which to speak, and feet to carry you there.

...Or not. Feet optional.

Comments? 3 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante