Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The past three days, in snapshots
2004-12-28 - 1:33 a.m.

Feeling: silly
Listening to: "Good morning, Baaaaltimore..."
Reading/Watching: nothing

I could write about several events of the past three days...

how driving home in the dark was an exercise in smiling politely while firmly telling my parents that a twenty-two-year-old can decide at what time of day she is capable of driving, thank you...

how Marie is visiting for the next three days because her big new empty house (with her parents in India) creeps her out, and my big old empty apartment (with my roommate in Mexico) creeps me out...

how there is a new barn cat that makes giant eyes at people when he wants food, climbs into my (unwillingly allergic) arms and purrs when he's cold, yet scratches a deep gouge in a little girl's arm because she tried to pick him up. Con artist...

how the lines on the road are white going my direction, and reflecting red across the median, like the stripes of an estranged candy cane...

how my dad had a surprisingly countrified moment where the girls came home from a walk, carrying sticks of Georgia cane, and he carved five little whistles from the bamboo-like segments and plugged the ends with cork, using a penknife (I still have mine)...

how the sky leading up to Schoolville shivered from the light of the radio towers, an image that was immediately shattered when the industrial-looking skyline came into view...

how the teenage boys at my grandmother's house played with fireworks and gave me disgusted glances when I suggested they steer away from the power lines...

how their mother came outside and expostulated, "Don't catch something that's on fire!"...

how my weird ten-year-old cousin decided to puff air into his fourteen-year-old brother's hair, just to watch it move around, and when the brother snapped, "What are you doing?" the child replied placidly, "Blowing..."

This is where all the capillaries end, because Marie is tired and we have been driving since eight o' clock.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante