Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Candlelight Coffee House
2002-02-23 - 12:37 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I have had a weekend.

Friday night I went to the symphony and heard a violin concerto by Rosza, soloist was Livia Sohn. She makes me want to learn violin, double-stringing about half her solos and basically just playing her heart out. Then there was a Copland symphony, and the final movement has the theme that became the Olympic fanfare. Cute touch, playing that. The conductor was a visiting one, and I've always adored him, because he dances, thunders, sways, leaps, everything but bursts into song on that podium, and the orchestra responds beautifully.

Afterward, Jae took me and the girl next door, Marie, to Candlelight. It's this coffeehouse that's ostensibly 21+, frequented by gay couples (or at least half their client�le is, which is nice save the fact that some of those sweethearts and their boyfriends are cute!), decorated with couches and armchairs and coffeetables off to one side, and regular tables with cloths and chairs on the other. Every little nicknack on the shelves, walls, end tables, is for sale. Magazines are scattered around. Love it to death.

Jae got us in once before by citing that it was her birthday (Zuzu, Briana, and myself), and they made it known that it was only in honor of her b-day. I bet they keep it 21+ just to keep the squeaky highschool 18-year-olds out. This is a place that's all about quiet, comfy dignity, and keeping the regulars. We purported ourselves well, so I guess they didn't mind when Jae came back with me the second time. The owner just smiled and waved us on in, though they wouldn't let Jae and Marie order wine, since I was with them.

At the end of the night, when I tried to pay for my smoothie with a credit card, I saw the little sign that said "no charges under $5." Aack. The man at the register (the owner who let us in) offered to put it on my tab and pay for it next time.

Aside from the fact that I've never had this option before, I was giddily thinking, Next time? I thought I wouldn't be coming back there for a good long while, due to my youth and all. But this is fast becoming a favorite place, so next time sounds like heaven. When I reluctantly mentioned that I was only 19, so next time might be a while off (stupid, stupid Katie), he paused, then let me charge it anyway.

I am definitely going back there if they'll let me. It's not just about the waiter we're currently stalking (haha), it's the fact that I'm in love with how that place is exactly... just exactly. I can't describe it.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante