Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Daddy's Girl
2002-02-21 - 5:28 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

My dad called from 200 miles away just to tell me what song was on his radio.

He's always been good at picking the songs that fit my voice well, from some kind of odd paternal instinct. Guess he's heard me warble over dirty dishes too many times (hey, singing makes the work go faster). But yeah, he wanted me to sing I Hope You Dance for Matt's wedding, and now he's asking if I can do a contemporary song for my sophomore recital.

I explained how the recital is meant to show my growth as a singer, and pop music doesn't give me an opportunity to do that, so it's expected that I'll do mostly opera, maybe some lieder and art songs. He was a bit disappointed (he's never been an opera buff; the only choir concerts he ever went to were the ones when I had a really important solo), but said "Well if you get a chance, you should try that new LeAnn Rimes song, I forget what it's called."

Today he called and left a message while he was driving to work (and he hates using the cel-phone in the car), just to tell me that the song was playing. "It's called I Need You, and it's a little low, but I think you'd sound great doing it." It was so cute, he held the phone up to the speaker and even though I couldn't make out the tune over the electronic static, it was such a Kodak moment.

(And he's right, that song would be perfect for me. Dad, the Katie Aficionado.)

My dad doesn't often do things that could be classified as cute. This is one of those odd little vignettes that I'll remember for a long time, I think. Something that'll come to mind when I see him being an adorable grandfather.

It's such a little thing, but it just made my day. I had to share.

P.S.- You might be a college student if... you've ever prioritized your laundry because you're short on quarters. Or if you've ever torn your room apart looking for quarters.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante