Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Katie's Adventures with the Emasculator and Other Hard Things
2002-02-24 - 1:03 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I climbed a rock yesterday! And it was neat. :)

Of course, I got in Friday night around 1:30, so technically it was already Saturday, and woke up at 6:30 to get on the bus with my science class, so I was halfway comatose whenever my muscles weren't in action.

But yeah, we drove out to Enchanted Rock and hiked to the top, then a few of us tried to scout out a "cave" we'd heard of, since we weren't sure whether it did, in fact, exist.

It did. There was a youth church group at the mouth of it, apparently listening to their leader talk about Joshua and Moses. The four of us exchanged glances, but decided to follow in after them, since we'd have to climb over them all to get in, and we didn't know the way.

Probably one of the smartest decisions we've ever made, I'd say. The youth group didn't bother me much, since they somewhat reminded me of the group I was part of in highschool (quite a bit more Protestant, though, obviously), and they helped us through the cave, since this wasn't exactly Carlsbad Caverns.

We're talking crawling, sliding, using elbows and knees, bending over and walking sideways through a two-foot wide space, gripping the rough edges of rocks on either side while you straddle a narrow sharp rock and take careful, careful steps. (I fondly called that sharp rock the Emasculator.) My dad and brother, who are broader-shouldered and considerably more claustrophobic, would have had heart attacks.

The youth group was so nice, singing as they crawled, giggling and guiding each other through, giving us one of their headlights when one of our flashlights went out. It was a huge exercise in trust, which I imagine is why the youth group was there.

Coming out, the four of us from the science class were filthy, exhausted, and exhilirated. It was awesome. I actually felt like I'd accomplished something, even though hundreds of people have probably climbed through there. Simply because I never saw myself as the spelunking type, this just thrilled me.

On the bus ride back, everyone was awake and chattery, and I'd not packed a lunch, having forgotten to buy it the night before from Subway. Everyone wanted to hear Mary's stories of her semester in London, and since I was interested, too, I listened in, particularly her accounts of how it felt to be an American abroad after the attack on the World Trade Center (she said the Muslim people in England wouldn't even look her in the eye). I tried to sleep, but buses are not exactly conducive to rest.

Got back around 2:30, grabbed some food (literally grabbed), and slept.

Sleep. Ah, what a wondrous thing. I'd almost forgotten how to do it.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante