Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Contemplating Quasi-Nocturnal-ness (it's a word...)
2003-07-10 - 12:42 a.m.

Feeling: chatty
Listening to: Jewel - This Way
Reading/Watching: just saw Pirates of the Caribbean, and it was fun.

I'm trying to get back on track with bedtimes, meaning in bed before midnight, awake by eight or nine, so I can make the best use out of the day.

So what am I doing? Heating up artichoke dip and drinking Cherry Coke at 12:45 a.m. Tr�s brillant.

I had a theory today, that perhaps part of the reason mankind is so rushed and unhappy these days is because with such a great expanse of time before us in the morning, we tend to waste it, and run out by the end.

I bet if we were more like our pets, and took two-hour naps every four hours or so, we could make much better use of our time. Sleep from 4-6 a.m., then stay up until ten. Shower, run errands, etc. Another nap until noon, then work until four. Sleep four to six, then stay up until ten doing whatever crazy fun evening plans you have. Then bed until midnight, when you get up and get your best work done while the rest of the world is asleep, until four, when the cycle begins again.

I'm tempted to put it into practice, but once school begins again and I will need to stay awake for about ten or twelve hours straight just to make it to all my classes, it would throw my entire inner clock out of whack and I'd become even weirder than I am, or at least I'd attempt to prove that it's humanly possible to be more weird than my present state.

By the way, it aggravates me when people call me and expect me to do all the talking. They call, say hi, and fall silent. Waiting. It's difficult, since I usually work best when I have some kind of conversation to bounce off of- I can't just launch into how my day was, because it makes me feel vain yet self-conscious, and it becomes awkward in an amazingly short amount of time when I finish my little rambles and the person is still silent.

I'm the perfect sidekick when it comes to conversation, because I will chatter like magpies with you about your day, but if I start off with mine, I tend ot stall out, unless something truly original has happened that I can elaborate on with actions and voices (which is always a crowd-pleaser).

One of my trademark lines is, "Tell me stories." Even if it involves going to the grocery store to buy goat cheese, I would still love to hear about it. And then I'll return the favor, once the ice is broken and I'm no longer at risk of babbling on about my day and shutting you out of the conversation.

The only time I permit myself to babble is, of course, right here, where you get to sit with your cheek on your hand, eyes glazing over, and think about your grocery list as you skim the pale-gray text looking for anything remotely apropos to anything.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante