Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Oh my god! Today actually didn't suck!
2002-02-20 - 11:58 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I know you're all tired of my whining, so I have come to relieve your boredom. Today was the shiz. (Borrowed that from Agamemnon.)

Briana gave me an offhand invitation to go horseback riding with her today, after I complained that I never saw her anymore, and I accepted, relatively sure that she'd forget somewhere between walking out the door and arriving at her next class. But no, she bumped into Jae and Zuzu and they wanted to go riding all together, grabbing me on my way to my voice lesson.

I put them off until later when I was free, and off we went. We spent so much time just making the horse pretty- it was fun. There's something magic about girls and horses- sitting there currying and brushing him was the best thing in the world, murmuring silly stuff to him and watching those huge brown eyes fix on us.

The four of us had to share him, and naturally when my turn came around I swung my leg up and over like a pro, thinking I'd sit straight and tuck my elbows in and just come to it naturally.

Wrong.

People often forget, there's a live animal under there. He's still and patient, but he moves muscles and shifts from foot to foot, and it's scary, because you're so open up there. It's like balancing on a bicycle. A bicycle who might have an attitude problem. He was a good boy, but when I got on there and acted too confident, nudging him firmly into a walk, he started trotting, having a grand old time, and I suddenly found myself thinking, "where are the handlebars on this thing?"

"Slow him down, quick, or he'll start running!" Briana yelled from the mounting block, and I was frantically wondering just how far I'd fall and how I should try to land so as to break as few bones as possible.

See, I'm kinda leery of falling facefirst after I made a nosedive out of my top bunk last spring and wound up with deep rugburn and fish lips for weeks.

So I tugged on the reins, losing all pretense of proper grip (Bri teaches English riding style, only we wanted to ride astride, not sidesaddle, so it was a weird combination) and the little booger finally slowed down. I had my heels dug in deep in the stirrups and hands clamped onto the reins for dear life, but it's weird to realize the last time you were off the ground on anything less sturdy than heavy machinery was about ten years ago.

After the riding we put everything away, fed him, and headed off to get some dinner. Since Jae's turning *twentysomething*, we asked them to give her a birthday cake. We didn't realize the place was 21 and up until they said, "you're not supposed to be here, but since it's her birthday, we'll let you stay." Nice of them.

The food was great, we schlepped around for hours, left a decent tip, spent way too much money. Good times.

The four of us might be a formidable group. We have a blast, and we've already made plans to do more things together. We're all very alike in some elemental ways, but in others we're total opposites, and we complement each other well.

We've made nicknames for each other (Mama Jae, Bumblebee, Katiebird, Zuzubee) and thought up inside jokes for just about everyone (doing a "Katie" is when someone is calling your name or trying to get your attention for five minutes and finally you look up and say absent-mindedly, "hm?").

They all criticized me for having a low self-esteem. Zuzu started it, and then suddenly Bri and Jae are all about the bandwagon. Bleh. Like this kind of thing helps, coming in Intervention form. :o� But in a way, it makes me realize that it's not just one person's opinion, and it's not being egotistical to admit I'm kinda cool.

So yeah. I'm kinda cool.

And I ate too much, sigh. My tummy hurts from melted brie with raspberry sauce, shrimp & artichoke alfredo and sampling everybody's cheesecake. And the raspberry smoothie. And a salad. ::whimper::

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante