Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

A step in some sort of direction
2009-02-08 - 9:06 p.m.

Feeling: hopeful
Listening to: Dancing Through Life - Wicked soundtrack
Reading/Watching: random television

I have decided the stars are aligning for a certain idea I've had for years, but never had the means to accomplish.

Last summer, I met a fellow choir teacher's stepdad, who owns and runs a small recording studio out of his garage. We used it to create practice CDs for our region choir kids, singing voice parts into a microphone in a small room lined with mattresses, listening to it being tweaked and tuned and blended into the piano accompaniment afterward. It was a lot of fun, and he didn't charge us.

I also wrapped up A Christmas Carol at the playhouse, and discovered that the teenage girl who played Megan Cratchit is actually more interested in piano than singing, but does musical theater for fun. She's actually quite a capable accompanist, although she's interested in taking voice lessons to improve her singing.

So I'm thinking I ask the gentleman with the recording studio how much he'd charge to let me come in for a day or two and record tracks for a demo CD. Not my own songs, because God knows those are perpetually unfinished and terrible, but an assortment of opera, musical theater, maybe some old Cole Porter standards. I could ask Megan, my "stage daughter" to accompany me on the recordings, perhaps trade some voice lessons for some piano sessions. I could make a CD which I handed out to prospective brides, groups looking for a vocalist, directors at auditions, perhaps even an agent or two.

I haven't recorded anything since my senior recital in January 2005, so all my audio samples are very, very old. It's time I worked to bring my voice back up to snuff, and tried to do something with it. It won't happen overnight, so I have to put things in motion.

Since I've spoken with Megan* and she loves the idea, but will be busy until June, I am going to dedicate these next few months to practicing and getting my end of things as polished as possible.

This month will be dedicated to extending my range and choosing which songs I want.

March will be standards & classics month (you know, the aforementioned Cole Porter, some Ave Maria, the stuff I could sing in my sleep but could still stand to polish). April can be for musical theater. May will be for opera arias. I can rehearse with Megan for a few weeks in June, and then start recording. I'll have a CD by the end of the summer, something new to show for myself, something to hand out when people ask.

Forward motion. Who knows, it could Lead To Something.

*=since I don't have an official blog alias for her, we'll call her Megan from now on.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante