Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Queso and Squash, or Katie's Culinary Adventures
2007-04-23 - 8:47 p.m.

Feeling: culinary
Listening to: Frou Frou - Holding Out For a Hero
Reading/Watching: Shrek 2

So tonight, I made a salsa dip so good that my husband wiped the empty bowl with his finger, and cried out in dismay when I put the mixing pot under water to wash it out (apparently he wanted to scrape that clean, too).

So if anyone wants the recipe, it's remarkably like the Mag Mud from Magnolia Cafe in Austin (I estimated the amounts, but it's mostly the same ingredients).

1 small (or half of a large) brick of Velveeta, cubed (I used light)
2 ripe avocados, cut into small pieces (about half a pound)
1 1/2 cups chunky salsa (Pace is good)
1 (15-oz) can black beans
1/4 cup sour cream (or 2 wedges of Laughing Cow Light cheese, if you're me)

Put salsa, avocado chunks, beans, and sour cream into a pot and simmer on medium high for 10-15 minutes until very hot (and liquid has somewhat boiled away). Put Velveeta cubes into serving bowl and pour bean mixture over them. Stir until cheese melts, microwaving for a minute or so if necessary.

It's not as pretty and layered as the Mag Mud, but it tastes amazing, and the only thing that kept me from eating more was that I used the hottest salsa I had, and even though it has to balance out the entire recipe, it still had a strong afterburn to it. Mon coeur claims it was perfect, however. And speaking as a girl who does not like avocados, it was still very, very good.

So yeah. Yummyness.

Tomorrow is my last day in the store, and since my boss has been less-than-supportive of my leaving, I'm bringing my own farewell cake to share with another friend who's leaving on the same day (I'm telling you, rats on a sinking ship over here). Since they snubbed her on her birthday a couple weeks back, the cake serves a double purpose (triple, if you count the fact that I won't be there for my own birthday a month from tomorrow).

But I ordered it from my (new) restaurant, so I get it for half off, and I got to smell the cakes baking while I trained in the kitchen today. Mm, cinnamon and dark chocolate.

I also tried to investigate a weird smell in my kitchen today, and discovered a butternut squash I had left on top of my fridge. It had rolled back out of sight under the cabinet, and when I tried to pick it up, it half-liquefied. This, on top of the box of white fancy placemats we got as a wedding present.

So I gritted my teeth and undertook a rescue mission to very, very slowly excise said squash from the danger zone. I almost made it, but then I got too excited and some of the uck juice dripped down the back of the box lid and nailed the placemat sitting on top.

Luckily they're machine-washable. Immediate rinsing and some stain-remover should take care of it.

Just so everyone knows, butternut squash do not have a shelf life of six months. This is my lesson for today.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante