Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Grateful
2007-04-19 - 9:03 p.m.

Feeling: flabbergasted
Listening to: Three Days Grace - Get Out Alive
Reading/Watching: I'm actually thinking of playing WoW. No, seriously.

Next Wednesday, I have an interview with Grad School of Choice. Please, keep those fingers crossed.

I asked my three music professors if they wouldn't mind re-sending the letters of recommendation they wrote for the previous school (the one which lost my transcript and made me miss deadlines, then ignored my multiple e-mails and phone calls, which we will henceforth call the Grad School of Poo University, a.k.a. PU). They all replied today that they would be happy to send more letters, and the head of the department (who also played at my wedding) BCCed his e-mail to me.

It made me blush. And grin. And blush. Seriously. It was so glowing, it was almost lies: "Katherine was always well prepared for all of her classes and lessons. In fact, she was exemplary in every way." (Um, sir, do you remember the time in your World Music class my freshman year when I completely forgot about the independent research group project we were supposed to write, and piggybacked on someone else's? Not always prepared, and definitely not exemplary there...)

But anyway. I need to give these wonderful gentlemen thank-you gifts, because they are going to so much trouble to make sure I go to graduate school. But they're men. So I can't think of good gifts to send.

I need votes. Fruit basket? Flowers? Candy sampler? Somehow I think smelly candles or frilly bath stuff won't cut it, and since they're all Phd's in their fifties and sixties, I'm sure they have decades of cute little music-themed knicknacks, and do not need more. And after seeing the letters they sent (well, two out of three), I know that a simple thank you note is inadequate.

So yeah. Input, please. (This is not me being a comment whore. This is me genuinely needing advice.)

Comments? 2 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante