Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Why Big Heads are Irritating
2001-11-18 - 2:17 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Saw Death of a Salesman for the first time on Friday at the San Pedro Playhouse. Amy LaPresto (Linda Loman) was fantastic (made me cry buckets), but I still think Frank Christian has an abnormally high opinion of himself, talented though he may be.

I mean, the man's played Tevye in Fiddler, Don Quixote in Man of La Mancha, Big Daddy in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, and Zorba from Zorba the Greek. He's an exceptional actor, and a pretty good singer. But the man uses the same exact headshot for every playhouse he's in. Everyone else is wearing costumes in smaller publicity photos, but his is large and black and white and just his face... the program says he's also peddling his own one-man show and a CD. Get over yourself. Never even heard of you in Houston.

I admire talent. I admire drive and ambition, but I don't admire self-admiring. Especially in something that's a community effort, like theater. I wonder what he's like to work with.

Ha, this sounds laughable coming from me, considering my recent diary entry... what was it, me bragging on how cool I was for singing? Oh well. Too embarrassed to link back to it.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante