Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Return to High School
2002-02-16 - 4:59 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Judged a drama tournament... made me realize how frinkin' good my highschool was.

I have a nickname for him now, heh... it's Drew. Anyway, he and a girl from our play, Nikole, and I went down to his old highschool (he said "don't pick on my school, not everybody grew up in a huge city" hee hee) and wound up being a judging panel for extemp finals.

It was fun, the three of us goofing off between contestants and pulling poker faces the instant someone would walk in the door. We even synchronized it so that when one person would look down and scribble furiously, another would look up. Only thing was that they know each other from work study, so half the time they were talking about people I don't know, which kind of effectively shuts me out of the conversation.

Lord, if I'd gone to this highschool I would've actually won something sometimes. It's a bittersweet victory, realizing that the reason I went to so many tournaments and walked away empty handed is not because I suck. Though that was still a large portion of it; I'm no Meryl.

His parents took the three of us out to lunch at the restaurant where he used to work. It was fun: Nikole and I picked on him mercilessly, and we heard some great stories from his parents. That, combined with the stuff we got from his highschool teachers, should be enough ammo to embarrass the boy beyond belief for... oh, perhaps the rest of his life. Hee hee.

Any time someone knew him from his highschool, and asked how he knew us (obviously expecting one of us to be a girlfriend, even though neither of us are, and aren't likely to ever be), I'd say completely straight-faced, "We're his ho' train." Hilarious. They certainly loved it, though I bet Drew would have gladly strangled the both of us.

In the restaurant, I was sitting next to his dad, across the table from Drew, so I think his dad was trying to be nice by chatting me up. They're the worst parents to have if you're shy, like he is, but the best to talk to if they don't belong to you, because they're funny and sweet and just so excited that their little boy is making friends. As we were leaving, it was so cute- his father said to me, "He's a good boy, you know. A real keeper."

I took great pleasure in telling Drew about that once we got back in his car. It was hilarious; he blushed and groaned, and Nikole and I were cracking up.

Hee hee. As soon as I got back home, of course, I took a long nap. Six-thirty a.m. is just too early for these old bones.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante