Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Silver and Gold
2000-06-02 - 22:09:04

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Raw green beans are highly crunchy. Okay, I obviously need a new topic.

It's amazing, the friends you can make on the internet. I know, I've heard all those horror stories about stalkers and etc. but some of the best friends I've ever had, I've never met.

First there were the March Sisters (I'm Meg, of course)- four girls that loved writing and kinda ran into each other on the Teen People Fiction board. We made a quick friendship two years ago that- in some cases- ended just as quickly. March Sis Amy and I had IMs that lasted until 3 a.m, and then a few months later we weren't even e-mailing each other anymore. Beth pretty much just stopped coming online, so we lost touch. But Jo and I- Jo and Meg are still going strong. She sent me a graduation card last week that made me cry. We dish on our crushes, our ecstatic joys, and our heartbreaks, and e-mail almost every day- sometimes twice a day. (I admit, I have no life. :)

Then there's the Dork Sisters. It started as a joke about a year ago. But we're still going strong, the 6 of us. Yes, there are officially 7, but number seven is like Dopey of Snow White's dwarves- she doesn't talk. We send almost daily updates on our lives, dish out advice, make inside jokes, terrorize *N Sync chatrooms, and have occasionally rescued each other from rock-bottom. Ethel and I are like best buds, Mildred cracks me up, Bertha and Gladys are like little sisters.

And then there's the guy who used to be all book-talk, followed by a brief flirtation and finally a rock-solid friendship that's lasted... over a year, at least. He gives the best advice in the world, and he knows how to sweet talk a girl when she's down. :) He literally says "Honey, I'm home!" when he comes online. And even though I couldn't quite return his affection as deeply, he understands that and is there for me always.

There aren't many people I know in real life that I could say that about. There's *him* of course, and a guy friend I've had since kindergarten, and a girl friend I met freshman year and depend on greatly, but that's three. I'm talking several online people I couldn't live without. :)

Weird, huh? I may never meet them. But they've helped me become who I am. Without them, I might not be me. And I might not like being me near as much.

It's a comfort to know that these are the kind of friends I don't have to leave behind when I go to college, because we never communicated anywhere other than cyberspace, and that won't change when I move to a different town, because all I have to do is plop in front of a computer screen and I'm with friends.

Reminds me of that old song I used to love in Girl Scouts.

Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver, and the other gold.

Comments? 1 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante