Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Good Day
2001-11-14 - 11:17 p.m.

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

I love enjoying the simple things in life.

Today it was raining- or, rather, drizzling, in little fits here and there. I walked in it for several minutes, then needed to deliver the school paper.

The bonus of being a paper girl? You get to drive a golf cart. :)

I loaded up the cart with 3000 issues of probably one of the lesser university newspapers in the nation, hopped behind the wheel and peeled out.

The cart drives like a hyperactive rabbit, especially with stacks of papers swaying in the basket in the back and on the shotgun seat. It splashed through puddles and somehow managed to position itself under every single dripping tree branch so that even though the papers were relatively dry, I was pretty well misted over by the end of the run.

I took corners at about 15 or 20 mph, which in an open golf cart is pretty darn fast. :) It whirs like a remote control car, and vibrates like my old Mazda, post-accident.

Reminds me why people loved early cars. You lose the experience when you're shut in from the world, in your soundproof waterproof fireproof crashproof lifeproof vehicle. The air was like the inside of a refrigerator, cool and with the occasional droplet of water, and rolling over pecans made them crack like bullets- I'd go rattling down a decline and hear them pop beneath me.

Something about it was so fresh. It felt new. I kept giggling every time someone would swivel their head to watch me fly by, tall stacks of paper swaying. I'd wave to complete strangers and they always smiled. I "eeee"d when wet branches would hit the roof of the cart and shower me with rainwater. I managed to have the misfortune to pass Sam when this happened, so of course he laughed at me. :) It was fun. I gave him a lift to the Subway on campus (which was only about 30 feet away, but still).

People are starting to recognize me as the newspaper delivery girl, in my little golf cart. They'll smile and say hi, try to hitch a ride (it's against university policy to pick up pedestrians... unless the person happens to be someone the driver has a thing for).

Drove by the head guy of the poets society, and he remembered me as the chick who made up harmonies to sing with him when he played "Losing My Religion" on his guitar. He asked if I'd be free some weekend... to sing with his band. :o� I know, it got my hopes up too.

So I had a good day. Golf carts, rain, and cute poets.

When it rains, it pours. :)

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante