Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Frowny-Faced Drivers
2000-08-16 - 15:35:41

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Do you notice how nobody ever smiles anymore? I mean, they smile at friends, and they smile at funny jokes, but you never see someone just walking and smiling... and even less, driving and smiling.

It just doesn't happen. And when you see someone who is walking and smiling, you assume they're probably "special." Why on earth did we all get so grumpy?

The other day I was walking to school (not in the snow, not uphill both ways... I don't even go to that school anymore; it's weird) and I had earphones on with Caedmon playing. It was probably 95 degrees fahrenheit in the shade, a blazing Houston summer day at 12:30 p.m., and I was walking and perspiring and ruining my nice clothes (what made me choose a longsleeved button-down over a tank top? the world will never know).

But most importantly, I was smiling. I was walking and grinning because it felt so good to be alive, lip-synching the words and watching the looks on the faces of the drivers as they passed me on either side of the median.

They all looked so... hemorrhoidal. Seriously. All grim-faced, some wearing sunglasses, the rest squinting and looking decidedly unhappy. They were in air-conditioned cars moving rapidly with the push of a foot, and I was walking at about 2 miles per week and grinning through my sweat. What is with people? They only changed their expressions from grouchy to startled when they saw me walking and smiling.

I didn't get one smile in return.

Same thing a year ago when I was volunteering at this car wash my church youth group was having. I got to stand on the street corner (barefoot- a guy soaked my shoes and the rest of me with a hose) holding a posterboard and trying to get people to look at me.

I got bored, heard someone's car radio playing too loud, and started dancing. People started looking. I mean, a 17-year-old fat girl doing the can-can dripping wet on a busy street corner is somewhat noteworthy. When I grinned and waved at people, they actually laughed. It was amazing.

And then they'd pull into the car wash. Hee. I was a great silent salesperson.

See what a smile can get you? So next time you're driving (or just in the car), take notice of what your face looks like. Try to smooth the lines from your face and smile with the radio music. It takes less muscles to smile than it does to frown, you know. And one long-lasting, pointless smile can really lift your spirits if you let it.

Down with the frowny-faced drivers! Let us be merry and frolic!

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante