Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

Gilmore Girls, Waterhouse, and Norah Jones
2002-06-09 - 7:36 p.m.

Feeling: Eclectic
Listening to: Tori Amos mix tape, currently "Concertina"
Reading/Watching: Still Briana. She gave me the key for... here.

There are all those witticisms about life imitating art and art imitating life.

If art imitates life, what is my life? If my life were a TV show, a painting, a book character (and no, I'm not about to whip out a slew of online quizzes. Those go on my LJ, if at all), what would I be?

Some TV shows are built to be nothing but strings of independent happenings. Episodes that could be played in completely random order and you'd still be able to follow along perfectly. Like all the old shows on Nick at Nite. Others have some sort of basic story underlying everything, a place they're heading. There are the occasional references to past events, with some sort of explanation thrown in for people who are just tuning in, and there's sometimes the episode everyone's been waiting for, when a problem or question is finally answered, like some of the hour-long TV comedy/dramas nowadays.

Then there are those like my favorite shows, where if you haven't been a loyal viewer for several months (preferably years), you are lost within minutes. There is so much going on, so much intertwining subplot and past reference and inside jokes, that an outsider is left utterly behind with a "sorry, you shoulda started on day 1."

I can't help noticing that my life isn't that. It's not exactly I Love Lucy, but it's nowhere near Buffy (every time I'm home and watching that, my mom will watch with me and ask for an update on some inside reference every thirty seconds. It's irritating). I guess it's something like Gilmore Girls meets King of the Hill.

If I were a painting, I might be a Waterhouse (though not popular enough to be Lady of Shallott). Aside from the red hair and the facial features that remind me of my mom, they're beautiful in a way that belongs to a different time. Not many people would look at Miranda the Tempest twice, but it never loses its general appeal. It's relatively easy to understand, because it's not made to be complicated, and if one bothers to look long enough, you can see the emotion under the composed surface. (Note: Miranda is one of my favorite paintings ever. Right after Dali's Paysage aux papillons.)

I wouldn't want to be a Mona Lisa, because I'd never live up to the hype, I'm not breathtaking enough to be a Botticelli, and I'm still too mainstream to be anyone that's truly on the edge, like a lot of the modern artists that people pretend to understand to look cool but no one would hang in their living room.

If I were a musician, I'd like to say I was a Tori Amos, an Indigo Girls, a Pixies, or an Ella Fitzgerald, but I think I'm just a little flash in the pan, maybe a Thompson Twins, showing up on a VH1 special before they sink into oblivion. I'd like to be Lifehouse. Good, mellow, underrated, finally being noticed like they deserve. Or a Lady Jane Grey. Hidden, but so good it's almost a crime no one knows them.

If I were a book character (other than the obvious Melissa in Don't Call Me Irwin), I'd be a cross between Electra in the Xanth books (most particularly Isle of View) and Jane Bennet in Pride and Prejudice.

I'm getting way too into this. It's probably the buzz from finally finding a place I can use the computer for as long as I want without being bothered (shh, I'll never tell. They don't know I'm here). This might mean I'll actually be around. Watch for me.

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante