Cast List
Archives
Diary Rings
Diaryland Profile
Guestbook
Diaryland Home

The Page of Thank-Yous
2000-07-28 - 09:35:31

Feeling:
Listening to:
Reading/Watching:

Meg has been very industrious lately. :) Yes.

I not only put the final final finishing touches on DCMI (!!!) but I'm waiting on insights from reader-critiques, have made a list of possible publishing companies to send queries to (I have twenty-six listed- six in particular I'm interested in) and am writing a one-page query now.

Ooh, I'm so efficient. :o� Thank the Lord for my fifth-grade English teacher and her graduation gift of Children's Writers and Illustrator's Market! I love her sooo much now. I'll have to add her to my dedication. It's already covering four people... now it'll be five.

"To my brother, my male perspective expert,

my 5th grade teacher, for giving me my writing wings,

my 11th grade English teacher, for teaching me to fly with them,

my cousin, merciless reader and invaluable friend,

and Mom, my literary advisor"

Not to mention the online contacts I have to thank...

"The Dork Sisters, for their unfailing support and screening of the rough draft, especially J with her honest evaluations,

The Eye Spy gals, for making DCMI so popular I got the courage to send it out,

Ally, my partner in crime and March Sis Forever,

Tomas, my other male expert,"

and the friends that inspired the characters...

"My two guys who, combined, where the original Irwin,

My best friend since sixth grade who inspired Ginny,

My gutsy-homegirl-slash-crisis-hotline who was all LaKita,

The caramel-eyed guy who developed into Aaron,

and my honest, gentle-hearted movie buddy who gave me a great deal of the experiences I put in there...

and whoever the hell buys the freakin' thing."

Of course, I can't put that last sentence in the book.

Geez, I'll need an entire prologue to thank everybody... maybe I should trim it down. Just thank "The World, for being cool." That should cover it. :)

If you would like to be on my thank you list, e-mail me at [email protected], and I'll add you to the chapter. Who knows, the dedication and thanks might have to be its own separate volume!

**Side note 3 hours later**: The mail just came, and I got the results on my French placement test! To place out of 2 semesters (6 hours) of college French, you need a 42 out of 80 (wow, they have a different scale), and to place out of 4 semesters (12 hours) of college French, you need a 45 out of 80.

Our friend Megsy got herself a 53. So I guess that means I can jump right to the fun French! When you see me, say hi and I'll be able to have a whole conversation in French! Eeee! Yayness.

(In case you didn't know, I'm a total nerd, and rather than being glad that I've been placed out of all required foreign language credits and don't have to take any, I'm glad I have placed into advanced classes and can get closer to being fluent, which is my goal...)

This day gets four gold stars. Eee!

Comments? 0 so far...
Not a Diaryland member? Sign the Guestbook.


Procrastination finally grows some teeth - 2010-11-29
Necessity: the Mother of Invention - 2010-11-29
Enforced Work Ethic - 2010-11-28
A Week of Perfect Nothings - 2010-11-28
4 more days - 2010-11-27

Random Entry Roulette

Alms for the Poor?
(Clix Vote - I'm ranked #54826)



If you copy this site, you are clearly retarded, and desperate, so... um, go right ahead. You must need it more than me.

Dollars for Dante